Organisation and Management at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB)

Here you can find the organisation of and management at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB).

Head of Department

The department is led by a chairperson appointed by the President for a period of five years. From Sep 1, 2019, the Head of Department is professor Sten Linnarsson.

Executive Council

Sten Linnarsson

Head of Department

Jesper Z. Haeggström

Deputy Head of Department

Carina Hammarström

Head of administration

Lina Rowland

Head of HR


The senate is deliberative council consisting of the full professors. The senate meets twice per semester and approves the recruitment and promotion (incl. to docent) of principal investigators at all levels. The goal of the Senate is to ensure that we recruit and promote the best PIs possible.

Ernest Arenas

Chairperson of the Senate

Elias Arnér


Jiri Bartek


Nils-Göran Larsson

Professor/senior physician

Per Uhlén