Skip to main content

BRECT - Breast Cancer Theme Center

The breast cancer theme center aims to increase our understanding of critical steps in breast cancer development and therapy. The research span from basic studies using cell lines, animal models and patient biopsies, to prospective clinical studies and clinical trials, with the ultimate goal to improve breast cancer therapy and disease outcome.

Specifically, the center aims at obtaining new mechanistic insight into the regulation of breast cancer progression in preclinical breast cancer models and in patients. Focus is on key signaling pathways in breast cancer cells, such as Hedgehog, Notch and PAK4, signalling in tumour stromal cells, as well as signalling between the cancer cell and stromal compartments.

The translational part of our program will explore markers and mechanisms of breast cancer development, progression and invasion in animal models, and validate these findings in human breast cancer biopsies. The processes involved in loco-regional breast cancer relapse and systemic metastatic establishment, including the analysis of circulating tumour cells, is investigated in animal models, as well as from retrospective and prospectively collected biopsies from breast cancer patients.

The center focus on different facets of tumour cell migration, tumour stroma including angiogenesis, and factors involved in tumour progression, and analyze their importance for prognostication and therapy prediction. Targeted and tailored therapy applications will be prospectively investigated based on our identification of putative drug targets.

Group descriptions and collaborative publications

BRECT group descriptions.pdf

BRECT collaborative publications 2010-2015.pdf

Management and contacts

Professor Jonas Bergh (Director)
E-mail: jonas.bergh@ki.se

Professor Staffan Strömblad (Vice Director)
E-mail: staffan.stromblad@ki.se

Assistant Professor Nick Tobin (Scientific Manager)
E-mail: nick.tobin@ki.se

Helen Eriksson (Administrator)
E-mail: helen.eriksson@ki.se

Group leaders

Professor/överläkare

Jonas Bergh

Telefon: 08-517 743 10
Enhet: Forskargrupp Bergh, Jonas
E-post: Jonas.Bergh@ki.se

Jonas Bergh publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor/överläkare

Jan Frisell

Telefon: 08-517 709 15
Enhet: Bröstkirurgi
E-post: Jan.Frisell@ki.se

Jan Frisell publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Senior lab manager

Guillem Genové

Enhet: Institutionen för medicin, Huddinge (MedH), H7
E-post: Guillem.Genove@ki.se

Guillem Genove publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor/överläkare

Per Hall

Enhet: C8.MEB.Hall
E-post: Per.Hall@ki.se

Per Hall publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Svetlana Lagercrantz publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Urban Lendahl

Telefon: 08-524 873 23
Enhet: Lendahl
E-post: Urban.Lendahl@ki.se

Urban Lendahl publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Sten Linnarsson

Telefon: 08-524 875 77
Enhet: Sten Linnarssons grupp
E-post: Sten.Linnarsson@ki.se

Sten Linnarsson publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Staffan Strömblad

Telefon: 08-524 811 22
Enhet: Strömblad
E-post: Staffan.Stromblad@ki.se

Staffan Strömblad publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor, senior

Rune Toftgård

Telefon: 08-524 810 53
Enhet: Toftgård
E-post: Rune.Toftgard@ki.se

Rune Toftgård publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Arne Östman

Telefon: 08-517 702 32
Enhet: Forskargrupp Östman, Arne
E-post: Arne.Ostman@ki.se

Arne Östman publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Kamila Czene

Telefon: 08-524 861 44
Enhet: C8.MEB.Czene
E-post: Kamila.Czene@ki.se

Kamila Czene publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Associate PIs

Erik Fredlund publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Forskare

Marianne Farnebo

Enhet: Farnebo
E-post: Marianne.Farnebo@ki.se

Marianne Farnebo publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Forskare

Charlotte Rolny

Telefon: 08-517 732 80
Enhet: Forskargrupp Rolny, Charlotte
E-post: charlotte.rolny@ki.se

Charlotte Rolny publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Junior Faculty

Anknuten

Theodoros Foukakis

Enhet: Forskargrupp Bergh, Jonas
E-post: Theodoros.Foukakis@ki.se

Forskargruppsledare

Johan Hartman

Enhet: Forskargrupp Hartman, Johan
E-post: Johan.Hartman@ki.se

Anknuten

Irma Fredriksson

Telefon: 08-517 724 50
Enhet: Bröstkirurgi
E-post: Irma.Fredriksson@ki.se

Forskare

Marianne Farnebo

Enhet: Farnebo
E-post: Marianne.Farnebo@ki.se

Forskare

Charlotte Rolny

Telefon: 08-517 732 80
Enhet: Forskargrupp Rolny, Charlotte
E-post: charlotte.rolny@ki.se

Forskarassistent

Nick Tobin

Enhet: Forskargrupp Bergh, Jonas
E-post: nick.tobin@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Guillem Genové

Enhet: Institutionen för medicin, Huddinge (MedH), H7
E-post: Guillem.Genove@ki.se

Professor

Sten Linnarsson

Telefon: 08-524 875 77
Enhet: Sten Linnarssons grupp
E-post: Sten.Linnarsson@ki.se