Admission seminars and admissions board at PHS

New doctoral students are admitted to the doctoral education through an admission seminar with the Admissions Board. The department arrange admission seminars on two occasions each semester.

The Admissions Board is responsible for processing applications, organising and evaluating the admission seminars. The board is also responsible for proposing suitable applicants to the Head of Department for final decision.

Admission seminars

Admission seminars are held four times per year, twice in the spring and twice in the autumn semester.

Admission seminars spring 2018: 

  • 17 May at 9:00, Widerström building

Admissions Board

The Admissions Board consists of a chairman, a secretary, five researchers representing different expertise within public health science and a doctoral student representative.

Chairman

Project coordinator

Emilie Agardh

Organizational unit: Public Health Epidemiology
E-mail: Emilie.Agardh@ki.se

Secretary

Administrative officer

Amanda Aronsson

Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: amanda.aronsson@ki.se

Researchers

Senior lecturer/specialist physician

Tobias Alfvén

Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Tobias.Alfven@ki.se

Associate professor

Jette Möller

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 801 22
Organizational unit: Public Health Epidemiology
E-mail: Jette.Moller@ki.se

Project coordinator

Helle Mölsted Alvesson

Organizational unit: Global health (IHCAR)
E-mail: Helle.Molsted-Alvesson@ki.se

Assistant professor

Helena Nordenstedt

Phone: +46-(0)(0)70-962 51 70
Organizational unit: Global health (IHCAR)
E-mail: Helena.Nordenstedt@ki.se

Senior researcher

Nicola Orsini

Organizational unit: Social Medicin
E-mail: Nicola.Orsini@ki.se

Doctoral student representative

Graduate Student

Therese Wirback

Organizational unit: Public Health Epidemiology
E-mail: Therese.Wirback@ki.se

The decision

The final discussion on the application is held behind closed doors. The Head of the Department makes the decision in consultation with the Admissions Board. The decision cannot be appealed, but a rejection of an application does not exclude a student from making a new application.