Skip to main content

About us at the Division of Psychology

Nobels väg 9 Photo: Nobels väg 9

At the Division of Psychology, we're conducting research at the intersection between psychology and biomedicine at Karolinska Institutet and the Karolinska University Hospital. Currently, there are fifteen different research groups at the division. We're responsible for the main part of the courses that are given at the psychology program at Karolinska Institutet, and we're also responsible for many of the courses at Karolinska Institutet at the undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral level. We're also periodically organizing open seminars where everyone who wants to immerse themselves further in psychology are welcomed.


The History of the Division

The Divison of Psychology has a relatively short history. It has its origin in a research professorate that the Medical Research Council awarded to Marianne Frankenhaeuser in 1969. This professorate was subsequently transferred to Karolinska Institutet 1980. After the retirement of Professor Frankenhaeuser in 1993, Arne Öhman took over the professorate at the same time that the Division got incorporated as a part of the Department of Clinical Neuroscience. The Division of Psychology has since then expanded significantly in both research and education.


Contact information

The Division of Psychology is located at Nobels väg 9 (postal code 171 65) at Karolinska Institutet's campus in Solna.

If you want to contact us regarding administrative or other non-research related question, you should as a first resort get in touch with one of the persons listed below.



Pia Enebrink

Head of the division
K8 Department of Clinical Neuroscience

Jenny Vikström Alex

Head of the psychology program
K8 Department of Clinical Neuroscience

Knut Sturidsson

Director of the undergraduate courses at the division
K8 Department of Clinical Neuroscience

Paula Lagerfors

K8 Department of Clinical Neuroscience

Elin Uddenstig

Content curator