About SFO-V

Denna sida på svenska

Research in care sciences is essential to advance knowledge of health promotion, prevention, care, nursing, and rehabilitation. Today, more people survive injuries and conditions that were previously fatal, people are living longer, and new technologies are raising hopes for improved quality of life - yet the individual and societal costs of care remain high.


The overall vision for the strategic research program in Care Sciences is to ensure that the development and provision of healthcare services is based upon high quality care sciences research. The program presents a strategy for a new organization of care sciences research at Karolinska Institutet and Umeå University, increased collaboration with healthcare providers and the business sector, and the renewal and expansion of advanced education (Masters/PhD).


The strategic research programme promots collaboration and invites stakeholders to take an active role in its work. The Programme is strengthened and supported by the active engagement of the two universities' partner organizations: Stockholm and Västerbotten County Councils. It is governed by a board that includes representatives from the community, academia, and from national bodies related to health and welfare.

Executive management and organisation

The members in the executive management represent the surrounding society, academia and national organisations in the field of health care service, as well as Stockholm and Västerbotten county council.


Professor/physical therapist

Christina Helging Opava

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 888 80
Organizational unit: Division of Physiotherapy
E-mail: Christina.Opava@ki.se


Senior researcher

Ulrica von Thiele Schwarz

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 836 28
Organizational unit: MMC/PROCOME
E-mail: ulrica.schwarz@ki.se

Board members


Louise Nygård

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 837 92
Organizational unit: Division of Occupational Therapy
E-mail: Louise.Nygard@ki.se


Yvonne Wengström

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 836 83
Organizational unit: Division of Nursing- Nursing 2
E-mail: Yvonne.Wengstrom@ki.se


Carol Tishelman

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 837 44
Organizational unit: MMC/Innovative care
E-mail: Carol.Tishelman@ki.se

Senior lecturer

Helena Lindgren

Phone: +46-(0)733-44 25 99
Organizational unit: Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH), K6
E-mail: Helena.Lindgren@ki.se


Lillemor Lundin Olsson

Phone: +46-(0)90-786 9135
E-mail: lillemor.lundin.olsson@physiother.umu.se

 Professor vid Umeå universitet, institutionen för samhällsmedicin och rehabilitering, enheten för sjukgymnastik.

Administrative coordinator


Kathrin Dellblad

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 888 42
Organizational unit: Division of Physiotherapy
E-mail: kathrin.dellblad@ki.se

Care Sciences