Dimitris N. Chorafas Prize

The Prize (USD 5.000) is meant to reward pre-graduate scientific contributions within the doctoral education.

The prize will be awarded at the Installation Ceremony of Karolinska Institutet.

Sebastian Ols
Sebastian Ols. Photo: Ian Haydon

Prize winner 2023 - Sebastian Ols

Sebastian Ols at the Department of Medicine, Solna, is awarded the prize for his thesis ‘Cellular and molecular mechanisms for induction of broad anti-viral B cell responses through vaccination’

Prize motivation:

"Sebastian Ols recently successfully defended a thesis in vaccine immunology – a thesis in which he developed and refined methods to study how multivalent nanoparticle vaccine formulations enhance the priming of antiviral B cell responses. During his PhD-project he demonstrated remarkable scientific maturity, leadership, media proficiency, and most importantly an exceptional scientific output that could have high translational value."

News article about the prize winner

Previous prize winners

2022 - Eivind Gottlieb

2021- Haohao Wu

2020 - Jiayao Lei

2019 - Gioele La Manno

2018 - Bianca Tesi

2017 - Arvid Guterstam

2016 - Alessandro Furlan

2015 - Miriam Elfström

2014 - Daniel Ramsköld

2013 - Maryam Derogar

About the Dimitris N. Chorafas Prize

The Dimitris N. Chorafas Foundation was founded in 1992 and since 1996 the Foundation has a collaboration with 23 partner universities, including Karolinska Institutet. The subject area ‘medical science’ focuses on new PhD holders or doctoral students who are in the final phase of their doctoral work. The candidate should not have reached the age of 32 years at the time he/she is nominated to the prize.

The prize will be awarded at the Installation Ceremony of Karolinska Institutet.

Content reviewer:
Anne Thyrfing