Karolinska Institutet awards medals to people who have made special contributions to support KI. The medals are available in three categories: gold medal, grand silver medal and silver medal.

The medals may be awarded to a person who has made contributions to KI in one or more of the areas of:

  • education
  • doctoral education
  • research
  • collaboration with the surrounding community
  • work environment/core values.

Medals should not be awarded exclusively as a counter-performance for financial contributions, gifts, or similar.

The medals are awarded to individuals who are at the end of their careers or no longer active.

The nominations are reviewed by the President, the Vice President, the University Director, the Academic Vice President for Research, the Academic Vice President for Doctoral Education, and the Academic Vice President for Higher Education.

Medals 2024

Medals 2010-2023

Gold Medal

2016 - Torsten Wiesel and Rune Fransson

2015 - Harriet Wallberg

2012 - Lennart Nilsson

2010 - Ingvar Carlsson, Paul Greengard, Bengt Samuelsson, Markus Storch, Hans Wigzell and H.M. King Carl XVI Gustaf

Grand Silver Medal

2023 - Göran K Hansson and Jan-Inge Henter

2022 - Jan Andersson, Stefan Einhorn and Ingrid Lundberg

2021 - Gunnar Grant and Rune Toftgård

2020 - Ove Hagelin, Richard J. Heald, Hans Jörnvall, Lars Olson and Nancy Pedersen

2019 - Anita Aperia, Sten Grillner, Bertil Hamberger and Mai-Lis Hellénius

2018 - Laura Fratiglioni, Håkan Eriksson and Bertil Fredholm

2017 - Marc Bygdeman and Tore Curstedt

2016 - Anders Ekbom, Ingemar Ernberg, Agneta Nordberg, Bengt Norrving and Elisabeth Olsson

2015 - Gunnel Biberfeld, Britta Wahren and SGO Johansson

2014 - Staffan Normark, Lars Klareskog and Hans Rosling

2013 - Gösta Gahrton, Folke Sjöqvist and Bengt Winblad

2012 - Peter Aspelin, Dimitris N. Chorafas, Suad Efendic and Nina Rehnqvist Ahlberg

2011 - Hans-Olov Adami, Lars Ekholm, Jan-Åke Gustafsson, Kerstin Hall and Tomas Hökfelt

2010 - Margareta Almling, Margareta Blombäck, Kerstin Hagenfeldt, Ulf Hjertonsson, Gunnar Höglund, Eva Klein, Georg Klein, Sten Linder-Aronson, Jan Lindsten, Anna-Stina Malmborg, Erling Norrby, Sten Orrenius, Nelson Sewankambo, Göran Stiernstedt and Yi-Xin Zeng

Silver Medal

2023 - Gunnar Nilsson and John Skår

2022 - Lena Borell, Göran Dahllöf, Rolf Kiessling and Marianne Schultzberg

2021 - Maria Masucci, Christina Helging Opava, Åke Rökaeus and Jan Ygge

2020 - Kristina Alexandersson and Roland Möllby

2019 - Lena von Koch and Björn Klinge

2018 - Fredrik Brolund and Lotta Widén Holmqvist

2017 - Lars-Olof Wahlund and Eva Mattsson

2016 - Gunnar Lennerstrand and Elisabeth Kjellén

2014 - Outi Hovatta and Björn Vennström

2013 - Hugo Lagercrantz, Sten Lindahl and Marie Åsberg

2012 - Kerstin Brismar, Bertil Daneholt, Johan Forsslöf and Karin Harms-Ringdahl

2011 - Agneta von Bahr, Inger Huldt, Kerstin Lagerström and Arne Öhman

2010 - Tomas Cronholm, Staffan Cullheim, Marja Lind Tuomela, Ester Mogensen, Per Olsson and Birger Winbladh

The Silver Medal

The Silver Medal may be awarded to a person who has made excellent efforts to support the activities of KI. The medal is primarily awarded to internal recipients, but also to external recipients. The Silver Medals are awarded in conjunction with the ceremony for Diligence and Devotion in February each year.

The Gold Medal

The Gold Medal can be awarded to a person who has made unparalleled efforts to support the activities of KI. It is awarded primarily to external recipients, but in special cases also to internal recipients. The Gold Medal is awarded once a year at a time determined by the President. Recipients of the Gold Medal cannot be appointed honorary doctor at KI at the same time, but a previously appointed honorary doctor at KI can receive the Gold Medal.

The Grand Silver Medal

The Grand Silver Medal may be awarded to a person who has made tremendous efforts to support the activities of KI. The recipient of the Grand Silver Medal should demonstrate a greater breadth in their contributions compared to the recipient of the Silver Medal. The Grand Silver Medal can be awarded to external or internal recipients. The Grand Silver Medal is awarded every autumn in connection with the installation ceremony.

Anne Thyrfing