Cardiovascular Medicine

The mission of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine is to unravel the pathophysiology of cardiovascular disease and contribute building blocks for improved therapy and better outcomes.

Decorative image.
Photo: Peder Olofsson.

In the division, we integrate expertise in immunology, metabolism, bioinformatics, and neuroscience with clinical research to study the mechanisms of cardiovascular disease development. Many projects start with an observation in a clinical cohort and strive to understand underlying pathophysiological mechanisms at the cellular and molecular level, ideally providing improved treatment targets.

The division organizes a number of courses in cardiovascular and inflammation biology and hosts the Stockholm Center for Bioelectronic Medicine.

Our research 

Research group Magnus Bäck

Research group Carolina Hagberg

Research group Stephen Malin: Atherogenic dyslipidemia.

Research group Roland Nilsson

Research group Peder Olofsson: Pathophysiological mechanisms of cardiovascular and inflammatory diseases.

Research group Magdalena Paolino

(Links to the research groups are added as the pages are created. For contact information for the group leaders, please use the search function at the top of this page.)


Contact the division

Organizational affiliation:  Cardiovascular Medicine is a division at the Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS).

Administrative support: If you are employed at, affiliated with, or have a case linked to the division, please contact the division's administrator.

Visiting address: Akademiska Stråket 1, Bioclinicum, J8:10, 171 64  Solna.

Peder Olofsson

Associate Professor, Head of Division

Angela Silveira

Division Administrator, researcher