Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg Prize

Denna sida på svenska

The purpose of the Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg Foundation is to stimulate and foster scientific research within the medical and biochemical fields respectively. Each year, an award is made of a personal prize as well as financial support to young researchers who have distinguished themselves in their particular field.

The foundation’s grant and prize, in alternate years, go to the two different categories of medicine and biochemistry. Where questions of nomination for the awards are concerned, the Foundation collaborates with the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Kungliga Vetenskapsakademien) and Karolinska Institutet.

Sven Hagberg (1894-1961) was a graduate engineer and cereal chemist. He developed a new method for measuring the baking characteristics of flour. This method, called the "Hagberg Falling Number", is now in use the world over. Ebba-Christina Hagberg (1900-1972) was involved in organisational work and shared her husband’s interest in foreign cultures. The couple had no children of their own but bequeathed their property to the Foundation which each year awards about SEK 700,000 to promising researchers.

Prize winners 2016 – Katja Petzold and Simon Elsässer

Katja Petzold, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB), has been awarded the Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg prize for her discoveries concerning RNA structure and function using Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) and other biophysical techniques. More about Katja Petzold's research

Simon Elsässer, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB), has been awarded the Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg prize for his discoveries concerning epigenetic silencing mechanisms involving histone modifications. More about Simon Elsässer's research

Previous prize winners at KI

Prize winners 2014 – Emma Andersson and Robert Månsson

Emma Andersson is awarded the prize for her work concerning how the Wnt and Notch signalling pathways control differentiation and morphogenesis during embryonic development. It is important to gain an understanding of these signalling pathways, since a range of diseases can arise when they do not function properly during development. Dr Andersson is doing important research into Alagille syndrome, a genetic disorder that arises in early childhood and affects the liver, heart and kidney.  Read more about Emma Andersson's research

Robert Månsson is awarded the prize for his work concerning early haematopoiesis and three-dimensional genomic architecture, and the relationship between this higher order genomic organization of genes and transcriptional regulation. He is particularly interested in genes that are involved in the development of blood cells. The overall aim of his work is to gain a greater understanding of normal blood cell development why some genetic mutations cause blood cancers. Read more about Robert Månsson's research

Prize winners 2012 – Pernilla Lagergren and Rickard Sandberg

Pernilla Lagergren, Professor of Surgical Care Sciences at the Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery at Karolinska Institutet, is awarded the prize for her research on health-related quality of life after surgical treatment of tumors, especially esophageal cancer.

Rickard Sandberg, associate professor at Department of Cell and Molecular Biology at Karolinska Institutet, is awarded the prize for his mapping of genome regulation, which has led to new insights on gene activity. His new genomic approach is pioneering basic research and has great potential to improve clinical diagnostics.

2010 – Marie Carlén and Luca Jovine 

Marie Carlén at the Department of Neuroscience is awarded for her application of an ultramodern light-based technique that revolutionises medical science's knowledge of how the brain works and the causes of brain conditions such as schizophrenia. 

Luca Jovine, Professor at the Department of Biosciences and Nutrition is awarded for his research on conception at a molecular level. 

Read more about prize winners of 2010

Prize winners 2008 –  Jonas Muhr and Kirsty Spalding 

Jonas Muhr at Department of Cell and Molecular Biology at Karolinska Institutet is awarded for his study of the regulation of stem cells in the brain. 

Kirsty Spalding at the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology is awarded for her research into the formation of new brain cells. 

Read more about the prize winners of 2008