Karolinska Institutet's Medicine Prize laureates

Eight Swedes have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. Five of them were from Karolinska Institutet.

Hugo Theorell 1955

For his discoveries concerning the nature and mode of action of oxidation enzymes.

More about Hugo Theorell on nobelprize.org

Ragnar Granit 1967

Shared prize for discoveries concerning the primary physiological and chemical visual processes in the eye.

More aboutRagnar Granit on nobelprize.org

Ulf von Euler 1970

Shared prize for discoveries concerning the humoral transmittors in the nerve terminals and the mechanism for their storage, release and inactivation.

More about Ulf von Euler on nobelprize.org

Sune Bergström and Bengt Samuelsson 1982

Shared prize for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances.

More about Sune Bergström and Bengt Samuelsson on nobelprize.org


More on tis topic