Nobel Prize laureates at Karolinska Institutet

Over the years, The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to five scientists from Karolinska Institutet.

Hugo Theorell 1955

For his discoveries concerning the nature and mode of action of oxidation enzymes.

More about Hugo Theorell on

Ragnar Granit 1967

Shared prize for discoveries concerning the primary physiological and chemical visual processes in the eye.

More about Ragnar Granit on

Ulf von Euler 1970

Shared prize for discoveries concerning the humoral transmittors in the nerve terminals and the mechanism for their storage, release and inactivation.

More about Ulf von Euler on

Sune Bergström and Bengt Samuelsson 1982

Shared prize for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances.

More about Sune Bergström and Bengt Samuelsson on


More on Nobel Prize laureates

Content reviewer: