About the Institute of Environmental medicine

The Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM) is a research department at Karolinska Institutet and provides authorities in Sweden and EC as well as international organizations like The World Health Organization (WHO) with expertise, support and advice regarding environmental health risk assessments.

Research at IMM is carried out in four major areas:

  • epidemiology
  • toxicology
  • physiology
  • environmental and occupational medicine.

IMM has about 350 employees and associated.



The research at IMM is led by a chair and the applied activities are led by a director. Both positions are held by the same person.



Profile image

Anna Bergström


Management team

Profile image

Anna Bergström

Head and director of IMM
Profile image

Bengt Fadeel

Deputy head
Profile image

Maria Kippler

Deputy head
Profile image

Lena Palmberg

Director of doctoral education
Profile image

Johanna Zilliacus

Departmental director of education
Profile image

Henrik Jonsson

Head of Administration


Address: Box 210, SE-171 77 Stockholm
Visiting address: Nobels väg 13, Karolinska Institutet, Solna
Phone number: +46 8 524 800 00 (Karolinska Institutet), Fax number: +46 8 336 981
Search staff at IMM/KI

Profile image

Anna Persson

Communication Officer

IMM finance administration


Board of Directors

A board of directors comprising representatives from a number of Swedish Government Authorities.

Anna Bessö, Chair
Public Health Agency of Sweden

Anna Bergström, Vice Chair

Sandra Ceccatelli
Karolinska Institutet

Elmira Tavoosi
Medical Products Agency

Annika Rahm
National Board of Housing, Building and Planning

Helena Brunnkvist
National Food Administration

Agneta Falk Filipsson
Public Health Agency of Sweden

Bert-Ove Lund
Swedish Chemicals Inspectorate

Maria Ohlman
Swedish Environmental Protection Agency

Carl Bladh
Swedish Radiation Safety Authority

Sven Hunhammar
Swedish Transport Administration

Ingemar Rödin
Swedish Work Environment Authority


Environmental Medicine at the Karolinska Institute (KI) has its origins in the Public hygiene department at the former National Institute for Public Health, which was established over seventy years ago. Since then both the organization and the responsible authorities for the state environmental medicine have changed several times before the Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM) was added as special department at KI in 1988.

IMM of today was established in 1993 through a merger between IMM and the KI departments for toxicology and hygiene. During last years research groups in occupational toxicology, lung and allergy research has been transferred to IMM, from among others the National Institute of Working Life and Stockholm County Council.

1939: The public hygiene department for the National Institute for Public Health

1972: Environmental health department at the Swedish Environmental Protection Agency

1980: State Environmental Health Laboratory (SKL)

1988: SML is incorporated with KI and the Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM) is established

1993: Common organization for IMM and the departments for toxicology and hygine at Karolinska Insitutet

1997: Genetic toxicology, occupational toxicology and epidemiology research groups are transferred to IMM from the National Institute of Working Life

2002: Lung- and allegry research-and health risk assessment groups are transferred from the National Institute of Working Life to IMM

Previous heads of IMM

  • Professor Ulla Stenius (2014-2022)
  • Professor Anders Ahlbom (2009-2013)
  • Professor Göran Pershagen (2000-2008)
  • Professor Sten Orrenius (1988-1999)
  • Professor Lars Friberg (1957-1987)

Find us

Visa karta 

Anna Persson