Signal Transduction

Denna sida på svenska

Research group leader: 

Professor

Per-Olof Berggren

Phone: 08-517 757 31
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Per-Olof.Berggren@ki.se

Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery
Karolinska Institutet
Karolinska University Hospital Solna, L1:03
171 76 Stockholm

Research Areas

Signal transduction in the pancreatic b-cell and thereby the insulin secretory process is regulated by a sophisticated interplay between glucose and a plethora of additional factors including other nutrients, neurotransmitters, islet generated factors and systemic growth factors.

The coupling of glucose metabolism to electrical activity remains central in all models of b-cell stimulus-secretion coupling. The resting membrane potential of the b-cell is set by the ATP-sensitive potassium (KATP) channel. Incubation of the pancreatic b-cell with stimulatory glucose concentrations leads to the activation of a cascade of reactions which ends in the exocytosis of stored insulin. This complex of processes starts with the uptake of glucose by the b-cell high-Km/low affinity glucose transporter GLUT2 and proceeds with the conversion of glucose into glucose-6-phosphate by the b-cell isoform of glucokinase. Metabolism of glucose in glycolysis and the Krebs cycle results in the generation of ATP. Elevation in the ATP/ADP ratio leads to closure of the KATP, which in turn results in depolarization of the plasma membrane. The subsequent opening of voltage-gated L-type Ca2+ channels leads to an increase in the cytoplasmic free Ca2+ concentration, [Ca2+]i, which promotes insulin secretion. With regard to the actions of the plethora of additional factors like neurotransmitters, islet generated factors and systemic growth factors; they are in most cases mediated by membrane receptors coupled to either G-proteins or tyrosine kinases, many of which subsequently activate the phosphoinositide-derived second messenger cascades. Among other things, the role of signalling through these receptor-operated effector systems is the focus of our work.

Pancreatic b-cell signal transduction is complex and involves a well-regulated interaction of a number of signals generated by the metabolism of glucose and the activation of a variety of receptor-operated pathways. Our future research will tell to what extent these various signalling pathways are really regulatory pathways under in vivo conditions or rather serve as signalling pathways maintaining normal b-cell function.

Members of the group

Researchers

Senior forskare

Christopher Barker

Phone: 08-517 794 54
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Chris.Barker@ki.se

Assistant professor

Galyna Bryzgalova

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Galyna.Bryzgalova@ki.se

Senior researcher

Elisabetta Dare

Phone: 08-524 879 33
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Elisabetta.Dare@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Andrea Dicker

Phone: 08-517 794 55
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Andrea.Dicker@ki.se

Senior researcher

Erwin Ilegems

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Erwin.Ilegems@ki.se

Senior researcher

Stefan Jacob

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: stefan.jacob@ki.se

Professor/senior physician

Lisa Juntti-Berggren

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Lisa.Juntti-Berggren@ki.se

Research assistant

Martin Köhler

Phone: 08-517 757 32
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Martin.Kohler@ki.se

Senior researcher

Barbara Leibiger

Phone: 08-517 757 27
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Barbara.Leibiger@ki.se

Senior researcher

Ingo Leibiger

Phone: 08-517 757 25
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Ingo.Leibiger@ki.se

Senior researcher

Luo-Sheng Li

Phone: 08-517 765 49
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Luo-Sheng.Li@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Tilo Moede

Phone: 08-517 757 25
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Tilo.Moede@ki.se

Research assistant

Teresa Pereira

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Teresa.Pereira@ki.se

Senior researcher

Neil Portwood

Phone: 08-517 733 98
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Neil.Portwood@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Essam Refai

Phone: 08-517 730 08
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Essam.Refai@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Massimiliano Ria

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Massimiliano.Ria@ki.se

Senior researcher

Shao-Nian Yang

Phone: 08-517 794 56
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Shao-Nian.Yang@ki.se

Senior researcher

Jia Yu

Phone: 08-517 794 56
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Jia.Yu@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Lina Yu

Phone: 08-517 727 44
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Lina.Yu@ki.se

Senior researcher

Sergei Zaitsev

Phone: 08-517 757 26
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Sergei.Zaitsev@ki.se

Research assistant

Irina Zaitseva

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Irina.Zaitseva@ki.se

Personnel

Högskolesekreterare

Katarina Breitholtz

Phone: 08-517 721 97
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Katarina.Breitholtz@ki.se

Biomedical scientist

Monica Isaksson Strand

Phone: 08-517 794 55
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: monica.isaksson@ki.se

Biomedical scientist

Yvonne Strömberg

Phone: 08-517 765 49
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Yvonne.Stromberg@ki.se

Postdoc

Postdoc

Concepcion Fernández Garcia-Prieto

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: concepcion.fernandez.garcia-prieto@ki.se

Postdoc

Jaeyoon Kim

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: jaeyoon.kim@ki.se

Associated

Anderson Ramos

Organizational unit: Department of Oncology-Pathology (OnkPat), K7
E-mail: anderson.ramos@ki.se

Postdoc

Rayner Rodriguez-Diaz

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: rayner.rodriguez-diaz.1@ki.se

Postdoc

Lars Selander

Phone: 08-517 748 29
Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Lars.Selander@ki.se

Array

Postdoc

Anna Voznesenskaya

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: anna.voznesenskaya@ki.se

Postdoc

Yan Xiong

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: yan.xiong@ki.se

PhD Students

Graduate Student

Saad Alqahtani

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: saad.alqahtani@ki.se

PhD student

Meike Paschen

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: meike.paschen@ki.se

PhD student

Subu Surendran Rajasekaran

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: subu.rajasekaran@ki.se

PhD student

Yue Shi

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: Yue.Shi@ki.se

Graduate Student

Pim van Krieken

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: pim.van.krieken@ki.se

Graduate Student

Karin Åvall

Organizational unit: Signal Transduction
E-mail: karin.avall@ki.se

 

Signal transduction