KIRCNET Scientific Meeting Grants 2023 (for both online and onsite meetings and conferences)


KIRCNET hereby invites applications from registered PhD students, post-doc researchers and junior PI and faculty for the reimbursement of conference-related costs to attend either online or onsite scientific meetings in Cardiovascular and Respiratory fields.



Applications are invited from registered doctoral students admitted at Karolinska Institutet (KI), Postdoc researchers and junior PIs working at KI. Priority is given to young researchers whose abstracts are in high scientific quality and have been accepted for oral presentation or Poster.


Other conditions apply:

The meeting the applicant is attending must be related to Cardiovascular and Respiratory research fields.


Only one abstract per applicant per semester of the call.

The applicant must be the presenting person and should be the first author.


The meeting should take place after Jun 2023.



The last day of October 2023



Maximum amount of 10,000 SEK for international on-site conference

Maximum amount of 5,000 SEK for national on-site conference

Maximum amount of 2,000 SEK for on-line conference



The application needs be sent to Please indicate in the subject “KIRCNET grant”. In the email, please indicate (1) your current position at KI, (2) the time and the name of the meeting, and (3) your role at the scientific meeting. (4) A copy of the abstract, (5) the decision on the abstract, and (6) the payment for the registration fee should be attached to the application.




Decisions regarding Scientific Meeting Grants will be taken by the Committee of KIRCNET. The next decision will be made in the middle of December 2023. The receiver needs to follow the KI regulations regarding travels, and register the costs in the PA web/Primula.


For questions regarding this call please e-mail:





Awardees of the 2023 Spring travel grant:

Antti Siika

Lara Garcia Merino

Sampath Narayanan

Glykeria Karadimou

Hanna Lenhoff


Awardees of the 2023 Fall travel grant:

Johan Kolmert

Zhichao Zhou

Ariela Maína Boeder

Ruby Schipper

Tigist Wodaje



Content reviewer:
Zhichao Zhou