The Pedagogical Prize

The prize is awarded annually to individual teachers, teacher teams or administrative personnel who have undertaken significant educational initiatives related to pedagogical development or renewal work within Karolinska Institutet’s programmes at first cycle, second cycle or postgraduate levels.

The prize winner is selected by the Committee for Higher Education based on proposals from a special prize committee, which also includes a representative from the Committee for Doctoral Education. When selecting the prize winner, the prize committee looks specifically at the following factors:

  • Educational innovation (innovations, development and improvement work)
  • Educational impact (local, national, international)
  • Educational leadership

Candidates for the prize can be nominated by teachers, students, doctoral students, and other staff working at KI. From 2013, KI’s educational prize also includes educational efforts in postgraduate education. The prize committee therefore also welcomes nominations regarding efforts within KI’s postgraduate education.

The prize can be shared among up to 3 winners. A member of the prize committee cannot be awarded the prize.

The prize is awarded at KI’s Installation Ceremony held in Aula Medica in October each year. The total prize money is SEK 175,000, which is transferred to the institution(s) where the winner(s) work.

Prize winner 2024 - Riitta Möller

Previous prize winners

2023 - Lena Engqvist Boman and Terese Stenfors

2022 - Björn Meister

2021 - Lars-Arne Haldosen

2020 – Eva Broberger

2019 – Anna Kiessling

2018 – Lena Nilsson-Wikmar

2017 – Ewa Ehrenborg

2016 – Dulceaydee Norlander Gigliotti

2015 – Rune Brautaset

2014 – Robert Harris and Lars Henningsohn

2013 – Gunnar Nilsson

2012 – Hans Gyllenhammar and Annika Östman Wernerson

2011 – Margaretha Forsberg Larm

2010 – Anna Josephson

2009 – Matti Nikkola

2008 – Annelie Brauner and Thomas Cronholm

2007 – Kent Fridell och Johan Wikner

2006 – Aino Fianu Jonasson och Lene Martin

2005 – Jörgen Nordenström

2004 – Åsa Nilsonne and Göran Sandberg

2003 – Sari Ponzer

2002 – Gunilla Johnson and Hans Rosling

2001 – Anders Bergendorff, Eva Mattsson och Li Tsai

2000 – Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg, Annika Sääf-Rothoff and lärargruppen bakom CAL

1999 – Helena Bergström, Ester Mogensen and Jan Ygge

1998 - Ingrid Lindquist och Karin Röding and Carl Johan Sundberg

Content reviewer: