Skip to main content

KISCO - Karolinska Institutet Stem Cell Organoid

The Karolinska Stem Cell Organoids (KISCO) is a joint facility of two cores situated in Solna and Flemingsberg KI campuses. The core in Solna, CMM-OrganoidCellStem (CMMSCOF, MMK/CMM) located at Center for Molecular Medicine, is focused on services related to human embryonic stem cells (hESC) and human induced pluripotent stem cells (hiPSC) characterization, consolidation, differentiation to desired lineage and organoid generation to study development and disease in culture system that closely reflect the in vivo organ or tissue setting The core in Flemingsberg, Murine Stem Cell Unit (MSCU) located at Dept. of Bioscience and Nutrition, focuses on transgenic mouse ESC (mESC) characterization, consolidation, differentiation to the desired lineage, and organoid generation. The MSCU service includes facilitating access to, and derivation of, transgenic mESCs available in transgenic mouse embryo repositories. Both facilities are equipped to conduct experiments in pre-implantation embryology and stem cell biology, and strive to offer relevant complex stem cell models to study human development and disease.

The main goal of KISCO is, to assist researchers mainly within KI and Sweden to harbour the potential of pluripotent stem cells (PSCs) in studying complex human disease mechanisms. A key tool offered and that will be continuously developed is the derivation and use of in vitro organoid systems of mouse and human stem cell origin. KISCO is unique in offering these services as a core facility in Sweden.

Murine Stem Cell Unit


The KISCO Facility Scientific Director is Associate Professor José Inzunza, Department of Biosciences and Nutrition, KI. The Facility Managers are Dr. Mukesh Varshney (MSCU, BioNut, Flemingsberg) and Dr. Krishna Vadodarian (CMMOSCF, CMM, Solna).

The members of the Facility Scientific Advisory Board are Prof. Martin Schalling (MMK, KI), Prof. Ganesh Acharya (CLINTEC, KI), Dr. Carlos Villaescusa (NovoNordisk), Dr. Ivan Nalvarte (BioNut, KI), Dr. Lindsay Davies (LABMED, KI) and Dr. Paschalis Efstathopoulos (MMK, KI