The Håkan Mogren Stipend

The Håkan Mogren Foundation was established in 2012.

Its purpose is partly to promote education and research within the medical field and partly to promote the education and training of classical musicians, particularly singers.

Within the medical field, the purpose of the stipend is as follows: to provide the opportunity for well-qualified, scientifically competent and clinically active physicians to improve themselves professionally, or to carry out research in a particular field of interest to them. To be eligible for the stipend from The Håkan Mogren Foundation, candidates must have established a reputation for looking after their patients with empathy and passion, and they should also be currently active, or planning to be active, in disseminating knowledge through lectures or the supervision of others.

The award comprises a diploma and a personal prize to the winner of SEK 250,000.

Prize winner 2021 - Karin Pettersson

Karin Pettersson, who works at Karolinska University Hospital, has a long-standing interest in high-risk pregnancy and childbirth, for example by women with spinal injury, HIV or other infections. She has been highly successful and many women have given birth with her support. In her professional life, she has endeavoured to improve knowledge of intrauterine fetal death and is now a much sought-after expert on many aspects of the field. She is involved in, amongst other projects, the Swedish Society for Obstetrics and Gynegology’s perinatology team and is expert consultant on the Patient Claims Panel. She inspires confidence in her dealings with people, which makes her very popular amongst her colleagues as well as her patients and their families

Previous prize winners

Prize winner 2020 - Nina Cavalli-Björkman

Nina Cavalli-Björkman is a senior physician and specialist in oncology at Uppsala University Hospital. She is awarded the Håkan Mogren Foundation Award in medicine for her dedication and tireless work to give prominence to the care of the severely ill. In her book Vård av våra sjukaste – Hur ska doktorn orka?, (Care of our sickest – How will the doctor cope?), published by Studentlitteratur in 2014, Nina Cavalli-Björkman describes with warmth the care of seriously ill cancer patients. Nina Cavalli-Björkman has become known to a wider circle via her chronicles in the medical journal Läkartidningen, where she generously and with great empathy shares her long experience as an oncologist. Nina Cavalli-Björkman is highly appreciated among patients and colleagues and sees the patients’ needs, even those beyond the strictly medical. She has a positive mindset and a unique ability to put feelings and thoughts into words when faced with severe, and in many cases incurable, illness.

Prize winner 2019 - Valdemar Erling

Valdemar Erling has been awarded the 2019 Håkan Mogren Foundation Stipend in Medicine for his great dedication and innovative, patient-centered care, including the incorporation of patients’ personal healthcare experiences in medical care.

Valdemar Erling is a senior consultant and hematologist at Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Gothenburg. He has been awarded the 2019 Stipend in Medicine for his efforts to improve patient-centered care by making language an essential tool in medical practice. He is dedicated to the humanistic aspects of healthcare and strives to change the practice of patient rounds. As chair of the Swedish Association for Narrative Medicine, Valdemar Erling has taken dedicated and visionary strides to make doctor-patient communication and patients’ own medical stories important components of care. His persistent and
passionate efforts to make language a tool in clinical work are particularly important in a time where technological advancements threaten to diminish human interactions within healthcare.

Prize winner 2018 - Anders Castor

Anders Castor, paediatric oncologist and clinical ethicist, is receiving the 2018 Håkan Mogren Foundation scholarship in medicine for his work in improving the care of children with cancer, his great commitment to ethical issues in medical care and his contributions to teaching.

Anders Castor is consultant at Skåne University Hospital, Lund. His expertise in ethics is highly valued not only in medical care, but also in education and in outreach to the general public. He has long been interested in issues connected with medical ethics and palliative care, especially in children’s medicine and surgery.

For example, when is it correct to interrupt the painful treatment of a terminally ill child, and how, in such cases, should rational and empathetic conversations take place within the care team and with relatives? Dr. Castor was instrumental in establishing an ethical committee at the paediatric department at Skåne University Hospital.

Through his knowledge and great commitment, Castor has also contributed to improving the care of children with cancer in developing countries – always with the patient and family in the centre.

Prize winner 2017 - Folke Hammarqvist

Folke Hammarqvist, Associate Professor in Surgery at Karolinska Institutet and Consultant at Karolinska University Hospital, has been awarded the stipend for in recognition of and to support his efforts for human welfare.

Not only does he provide support and care for his patients and their relatives, he listens to his colleagues and creates a true team spirit. The justification for the award also highlights the fact that he is a role model within education where he is recognised for his major commitment and teaching skills.

Over the years, around 1,500 younger physicians have taken part in courses held by Folke Hammarqvist, particularly within surgery. If we also count courses in for example team training, we find a further 2,000 students who have been able to benefit from Folke Hammarqvist’s knowledge. According to the man himself, this number is only set to increase.

News article about the 2017 Håkan Mogren Prize

Prize winner 2016 - Peter Berggren

Peter Berggren, district doctor in Storuman, is awarded the prize for his work that has created good conditions for continuity and the safety for patients in rural areas.

Peter Berggren's work has contributed towards brand new care models being devised using advanced remote technology. For example, patients can meet with a dietician or a CBT practitioner via video conferencing, and doctors can listen to a heartbeat or look down into a patient’s throat remotely thanks to various technological solutions. Many doctors and nurses have completed specialist training in this new way of working that Peter Berggren has helped to draw up. Experiences of remote care work have been shared with twin towns and care centres in Australia and Canada. Continuity and safety are the guiding principles in everything that is done.

News article about the 2016 Håkan Mogren Prize

Prize winner 2015 - Elisabet Lidbrink

Elisabet Lidbrink, oncology consultant at Karolinska University Hospital, is awarded the prize for her strong commitment to women with breast cancer, and for her support of younger colleagues. She sets an example with her humane patient approach.

News article about the 2015 Håkan Mogren Prize

2014 - Carl Johan Fürst

The Håkan Mogren Foundation has selected the Senior Physician and Professor of Palliative Medicine, Carl Johan Fürst, as the recipient of the Foundation’s 2014 medical prize. Professor Fürst is awarded the prize for, and on behalf of, his ongoing contribution to human health and wellbeing.

News article about the 2014 Håkan Mogren Prize

2013 - Inger Hagerman

The Håkan Mogren Foundation has selected researcher and consultant Inger Hagerman to be the 2013 recipient of its medical stipend. The 250,000 kronor prize is to be awarded to Dr Hagerman for her exceptional contributions to human wellbeing.

News article about the 2013 Håkan Mogren Prize