Admission seminars and admissions board at PHS

New doctoral students are admitted to the doctoral education through an admission seminar with the Admissions Board. The department arrange admission seminars on two occasions each semester.

The Admissions Board is responsible for processing applications, organising and evaluating the admission seminars. The board is also responsible for proposing suitable applicants to the Head of Department for final decision.

Admission seminars

Admission seminars are held four times per year, twice in the spring and twice in the autumn semester.

Admission seminars autumn 2016: 

  • 13 October at 9:00,Widerströmska huset
  • 1 December at 9:00,Widerströmska huset

Admission seminars spring 2017: 

  • 2 February at 9:00,Widerströmska huset
  • 4 May at 9:00,Widerströmska huset

Admissions Board

The Admissions Board consists of a chairman, a secretary, five researchers representing different expertise within public health science and a doctoral student representative.

Chairman

Senior lecturer

Marie Hasselberg

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 833 74
Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Marie.Hasselberg@ki.se

Secretary

Administrative officer

Marita Larsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 801 05
Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: marita.larsson@ki.se

Researchers

Professor/senior physician

Bo Burström

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 801 60
Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Bo.Burstrom@ki.se

Adjunct professor

Yvonne Forsell

Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Yvonne.Forsell@ki.se

Senior lecturer

Jette Möller

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 801 22
Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Jette.Moller@ki.se

Project coordinator

Helle Mölsted Alvesson

Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Helle.Molsted-Alvesson@ki.se

Assistant professor

Helena Nordenstedt

Phone: +46-(0)(0)70-962 51 70
Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: Helena.Nordenstedt@ki.se

Doctoral student representative

PhD student

Charisse Johnson

Organizational unit: Department of Public Health Sciences (PHS), K9
E-mail: charisse.johnson@ki.se

The decision

The final discussion on the application is held behind closed doors. The Head of the Department makes the decision in consultation with the Admissions Board. The decision cannot be appealed, but a rejection of an application does not exclude a student from making a new application.