Undergraduate education

Denna sida på svenska

The Department of Laboratory Medicine is one of the largest departments of education at KI. We have close to 400 full-time equivalent students and teach in 9 of KI's study programmes.

In addition, a number of single-subject courses are arranged at the department, as well as a study programme contracted by KTH Royal Institute of Technology. The department also offers courses in collaboration with Södertörn University.

The department offers single-subject courses at second-cycle level, which can be used for a master's degree in, for example, biomedical laboratory science.

Programmes that we teach

Credit transfer administration at the department

For all departments' courses, the students must send their documentation to:

Studentexpeditionen [the Student Office]

Plan 8, 8100

141 83 Huddinge

Mark the envelope "Tillgodoräknande" [Credit transfer]

You will also need to send the credit transfer form (only in Swedish. The forms are at the end of the page) electronically to the examiner (see under contact information on the course web page)

​Exchange studies

The department is conducting extensive exchanges with a number of countries and with several study programmes at KI where students and teachers arrive from other countries and those from KI travel abroad, within exchange programmes such as:Flicka med jordglob

  • Erasmus
  • Linnaeus Palme
  • Nordplus etc

Further information on exchange studies!


Senior lecturer

Maria Westerståhl

Phone: 08-585 865 09
Organizational unit: Division of clinical physiology
E-mail: Maria.Westerstahl@ki.se

Research coordinator

Catharina Hultgren

Phone: 08-524 835 89
Organizational unit: Division of Clinical Microbiology
E-mail: Catharina.Hultgren@ki.se


Lena Persson

Phone: 08-585 817 13
Organizational unit: Division of clinical physiology
E-mail: Lena.Persson@ki.se


Undergraduate council

The remit of the Undergraduate Council is to discuss inter-departmental matters pertaining to education.

Members 2014:  
President Maria Westerståhl Head of postgraduate education at the LabMed
Georgios Panagiotidis Clinical Pharmacology
Lena Ekström Clinical Pharmacology, Suppl
Anna Wiik Clinical Physiology
Anna-Klara Rundlöf Clinical Chemistry
Jenny Flygare Clinical Chemistry, Suppl
Eva Sillerström Clinical Microbiology
Karin Hannerz Clinical Immunology and Transfusion medicine
Pernilla Lång Division of Pathology