Skip to main content

The Pedagogical Prize

The prize is awarded annually to individual teachers, teacher teams or administrative personnel who have undertaken significant educational initiatives related to pedagogical development or renewal work within Karolinska Institutet’s programmes at first cycle, second cycle or postgraduate levels.

Lena Nilsson-Wikmar is Professor of Physiotherapy specialising in Education at the Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society

Prize winner 2018 - Lena Nilsson-Wikmar

For many years Lena Nilsson-Wikmar has served as an
excellent pedagogical leader at KI and has been a pioneer in the improvement of its teaching methods.
Lena Nilsson-Wikmar is a professor of physiotherapy (specializing in education) at the Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society(NVS). She has been the program director of the Master’s Program in
Clinical Medical Science and has also been responsible for undergraduateand postgraduate education at NVS. In 2011 she was elected as a member of the newly founded Pedagogical Academy and today serves as its chairperson.

Nilsson-Wikmar has been heavily involved in the establishment of the InterProfessional Training Ward (KUA) and the Clinical Education Centre (KUM), as well as the creation of the Academic Primary Healtcare Centres.
She has been a pioneer when it comes to methods for activating the students and a driving force in matters concerning interprofessional education and integrating a gender perspective into education. In her innovative teaching methods, the central focus is always on the students and PhD students – inspiring them to take responsibility for their own learning

Previous Prize Winners:

2017 - Ewa Ehrenborg

2016 - Dulceaydee Norlander Gigliotti

2015 - Rune Brautaset

2014 - Robert Harris och Lars Henningsohn

2013 - Gunnar Nilsson

2012 - Hans Gyllenhammar och Annika Östman Wernerson

2011 - Margaretha Forsberg Larm

2010 - Anna Josephson

2009 - Matti Nikkola

2008 - Annelie Brauner och Thomas Cronholm

2007 - Kent Fridell och Johan Wikner

2006 - Aino Fianu Jonasson och Lene Martin

2005 - Jörgen Nordenström

2004 - Åsa Nilsonne och Göran Sandberg

2003 - Sari Ponzer

2002 - Gunilla Johnson och Hans Rosling

2001 - Anders Bergendorff, Eva Mattsson och Li Tsai

2000 - Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg, Annika Sääf-Rothoff och lärargruppen bakom CAL

1999 - Helena Bergström, Ester Mogensen och Jan Ygge