Skip to main content

Respiratory medicine

The research conducted by the Respiratory Division focuses on inflammatory disorders in the airways and lung parenchyma, and on lung cancer.

The success of much of the research is attributed to an excellent and close collaboration between experienced physicians meeting the patients and a well-equipped and closely located research laboratory with professionals, in particular with expertise within the field of inflammation and immunology.

Research areas

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, COPD  - Magnus Sköld, Åsa Wheelock

Idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF)   - Magnus Sköld, Giovanni Ferrara

Intracellular signalling     - Magnus Nord

Proteomics applications    - Åsa Wheelock

Sarcoidosis      - Johan Grunewald, Anders Eklund, Jan Wahlström

Smoking-induced autoimmunity      - Jan Wahlström

Head of Respiratory Division

Johan Grunewald

Group J Grunewald
Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS), K2

Research groups

Professor Johan Grunewald

Professor Magnus Sköld

Associate professor Åsa Wheelock

Members of Division

Researchers Title Affiliated with senior researcher
Olga Chuquimia Postdoc Johan Grunewald
Pernilla Darlington Lidin MD, PhD Johan Grunewald
Anders Eklund MD, Professor emeritus
Giovanni Ferrara MD, Associate Professor, senior consultant Magnus Sköld
Jing Gao MD, Postdoc Magnus Sköld
Johan Grunewald MD, Professor
Reza Karimi MD, PhD Magnus Sköld
Susanna Kullberg MD, PhD Johan Grunewald, Jan Wahlström
Chuan-Xing Li (Tracy) Senoir postdoc Åsa Wheelock
Heta Merikallio Postdoc Åsa Wheelock, Magnus Sköld
Zdenka Navratilova Postdoc Johan Grunewald
Magnus Nord MD, Adjunct Professor
Natalia Sifaki Rivera Postdoc Johan Grunewald
Magnus Sköld MD, Professor
Jan Wahlström MD, Associate Professor
Åsa Wheelock Associate Professor
Mingxing Yang MD Senior postdoc Åsa Wheelock
Doctoral students Main supervisors
Muntasir Abo Al Hayja Jan Wahlström
Dimitrios Kalafatis Giovanni Ferrara
Ioanna Kotortsi Magnus Sköld
Ida Pesonen Giovanni Ferrara
Melvin Pourbazargan Magnus Sköld
Marika Ström Åsa Wheelock
Ioanna Strömberg Johnson Johan Grunewald
Petra Um Bergström Magnus Sköld
Emil Wiklundh Johan Grunewald
Technical & administrative staff
Maria Ahlsen PhD, national co-ordinator BronchoScapis
Helene Blomqvist Research nurse
Lisa Carlson Research nurse, national co-ordinator IPF-registry
Margitha Dahl RN, research nurse
Benita Dahlberg Biomedical technician
Benita Engvall Biomedical technician, M Sc
Eva-Marie Karlsson Administrator
Charlotte Rivero RN, research nurse