USA - The Rockefeller University

The Rockefeller University is a private university that offers doctoral and postdoctoral education. Karolinska Institutet has an extensive cooperation agreement with the Rockefeller University. The initial agreement covers three exchange programmes: Nicholson Lectures Programme, Nicholson Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme and Nicholson Exchange Programme for Research, Education, Technical/Administrative and Resource Center Staff.

The Rockefeller University is a world-renowned center for research and graduate education in the biomedical sciences, chemistry, bioinformatics and physics. The university's 80 laboratories conduct both clinical and basic research and study a diverse range of biological and biomedical problems with the mission of improving the understanding of life for the benefit of humanity.

The university is supported by a combination of government and private grants and contracts, private philanthropy and income from the endowment.

Since its founding, The Rockefeller University has embraced an open structure to encourage collaboration between disciplines and empower faculty members to take on high-risk, high-reward projects. No formal departments exist and scientists are given resources, support and unparalleled freedom to follow the science wherever it leads. This unique approach to science has led to some of the world’s most revolutionary contributions to biology and medicine.

Post doc training exchange

This agreement provides support for the exchange of postdoctoral scientists (each a "Nicholson Postdoctoral Fellow") by awarding one fellowship to each Institution every alternate year. The aim of this exchange is to give selected individuals experimental training.

Application for Postdoctoral Fellowship Opportunity at The Rockefeller University For Researchers from Karolinska Institutet is open. The deadline for applications is:  Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 23.59. More information about the application process

Research, education & technical/administrative staff exchange

This agreement provides support for short-term technical and research exchange by scientists at a range of levels, including but not limited to post doc trainees, doctoral students, research assistance, and technical/resource centre personnel at the Karolinska Institutet and the Rockefeller University.

Application for Short-term Research, Education, and Technical/Resource Center/Administrative Staff Exchange at The Rockefeller University is open. The deadline for applications is:  Wednesday, May 27, 2020 at 23.59. More information about the application process.

Nicholson Lectures Programme

The Nicholson Lectures Programme consists of two annual professors’ lectures at each university. The universities nominate between five and ten of their candidates, of which one is finally chosen by the partner university. In total 16 Nicholson Lectures have been held so far, by Profs. Ralph M. Steinman, Cori Bargmann, David C. Allis, Titia de Lange, Charles M. Rice, James Hudspeth, Jeffrey Friedman, Elaine Fuchs and Richard Lifton of the Rockefeller University. KI Nicholson Lecturers include Profs. Christer Betsholtz, Thomas Perlmann, Juleen Zierath, Camilla Sjögren, Jonas Frisén, Ole Kiehn, Sten Linnarson and Anna Wedell.

The Nicholson Lecture 2019 at Karolinska Institutet was held by Dr. Richard P. Lifton, M.D., Ph.D. , President of The Rockefeller University. Read more about the lecture here

Nicholson Lecture 2019

Nicholson Lecture 2018

Nicholson Lecture 2017

Nicholson Lecture 2016

Nicholson Lecture 2015

Nicholson Lecture 2013


Per Svenningsson

Academic Coordinator