Cancer Genetics

Denna sida på svenska

Research group leader

Professor, senior

Annika Lindblom

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: Annika.Lindblom@ki.se

Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery
Karolinska Institutet
Karolinska University Hospital, Solna L8:02
SE-171 76 Stockholm

Research area

Families undergoing genetic counseling for an increased risk of cancer and where no disease gene is known are being included in our ongoing studies. We have performed many studies to rule out possible candidate genes. Families without known mutations have been recruited to our linkage and association studies. We have in total identified more than 1000 families without mutations in known genes and many of those families have been included in studies. We have ongoing studies in familial colorectal cancer and familial breast cancer and we are looking for new cancer syndromes. We also use large clinical materials for testing the hypothesis of cancer as a complex disease. Our results are implemented into clinical praxis. We have studied effects of genetic counseling and genetic testing and surveillance in cancer families and been able to demonstrate the usefulness of oncogenetic counseling and that it does not bring unwanted side effects of anxiety. We have also continued to improve the procedure of genetic cancer counseling, and to improve the procedure of genetic testing and to evaluate the surveillance program. We have also found that patients under surveillance tolerate this well and are aware of its importance.

Members of the group

Postdoc

Xiang Jiao

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: xiang.jiao@ki.se

Associated

Kristina Lagerstedt

Phone: +46-(0)8-672 33 75
Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: Kristina.Lagerstedt@ki.se

Postdoc

Wen Liu

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: wen.liu@ki.se

Associated

Hovsep Mahdessian

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: hovsep.mahdessian@ki.se

Associated

Johanna Rantala

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 730 19
Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: Johanna.Rantala@ki.se

Senior researcher

Emma Tham

Phone: 6089242
Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: Emma.Tham@ki.se

PhD student

Jessada Thutkawkorapin

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: jessada.thutkawkorapin@ki.se

PhD student

Jenny Von Salomé

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: Jenny.Von-Salome@ki.se

PhD student

Karin Wallander

Organizational unit: Cancer Genetics
E-mail: karin.wallander@ki.se

Links

Cancer genetics