About the Department of Medicine

The Department of Medicine consists of 45 research Divisions belonging to 12 different research units, as listed to the left on this page, representing a broad variety of medical entities.

Our organization

The research groups are established at the Karolinska University Hospital campus in Solna, in association with their respective clinics, as well as localized within the Center for Molecular Medicine (CMM)

One strength of the department is the closeness to patients, with the possibility to obtain clinical samples and to relate these to clinical features of the patients, thus allowing studies in an integrated basic and clinical scientific environment.

There are approximately 420 employees, 550 associated and approximately 200 PhD Students at the department of medicine. In 2020, the department's turnover was around 455 million Swedish kronor, where 20% constituted governmental funding. The organization is centered around the research groups, where the group research leaders assume financial responsibility for their own groups and hence have a large degree of independence.

The Head of the Department is responsible for long-term strategic commitments such as recruitment of future leaders and excellent scientists who fit into the profile of the department.

Two important issues for the department of medicine are to further intensify alliances with pre-clinical researchers within the research profile of the department, and to enhance the opportunities for clinicians to perform active research.

Organization Department of Medicine Solna
Organization Department of Medicine Solna

For staff and affiliated

The Staff Portal is the part of ki.se where you find information about your employment at or affiliation to Karolinska Institutet. You will be updated about what is happening at the university as well as finding the information and tools you need for your work. If you log in with your KI ID, you can find more info based on your organizational affiliation.

To the Staff Portal