Skip to main content

The Ulf von Euler lecture

The Ulf von Euler Lecture is an official annual named lecture of Karolinska Institutet. It was instituted by decision of the faculty at KI upon an initiative taken by Ulf von Euler's former students at the time of his passing away in 1983.

portrait of Ulf von Euler
Ulf von Euler.

About the lecture

The intention of the lecture is that it should be given on a subject from one of the fields where Ulf von Euler made major contributions or a field where he today would have taken an interest, were he still alive and active.

It was made possible by forming a foundation, The Ulf von Euler Lectureship Foundation, which stems from donations by Ulf's family and friends and by generous donations from industry. The founders were Lennart Stjärne, Per Hedqvist, Åke Wennmalm and Hugo Lagercrantz.

Ulf von Euler

Ulf von Euler made major contributions to Science in the area of neuroscience, notably his Nobel prize awarded discovery of noradrenaline, in neuropeptide research by the discovery of substance P, and in lipid pharmacology by the discovery of prostaglandin.

The Euler-Liljestrand mechanism of regulation of pulmonary blood flow stemmed from research on muscular exercise effects on blood flow. A personal account of Ulf von Euler's life has been given by Hermann Blaschko.

The 2018 Ulf von Euler Lecturer

9 November 2018

Professor Susan S. Taylor, University of California, San Diego, CA, USA

"Lessons learned from PKA: from molecules to cells"


Previous lecturers 2017-1985

Year Lecturer Title
2017 Gregg L. Semenza "Molecular Mechanisms of Oxygen Homeostatis"
2016 Sadaf Farooqi, UK "Obesity: neural mechanisms involved in eating behavior"
2015 Andrew R Marks, New York "Towards a structural basis of complex disorders of heart, muscle and brain"
2014 Susan G Amara, Washington DC "A New Take on Uptake: Neurotransmitter transporters and the cellular mechanisms of amphetamine action"
2013 Bruce Spiegelman, Boston "Brown and Beige Fat: Basic Biology and Novel Therapeutics"
2012 Masashi Yanagisawa, Dallas and Tsukuba "From Novel Bioactive Peptides to Therapeutic Targets -- Journey on Endothelin and Orexin"
2010 Timothy J Williams, London "Discovery of Eotaxin"
2005 Garret A Fitzgerald, Philadelphia "Lessons in drug development from the arachidonic acid cascade"
2004 Thoms Südhof, Dallas "How calcium triggers neurotransmitter release"
2003 Solomon H Snyder, Baltimore "Strange signaling in the brain"
2001 Warren M Zapol, Boston "Oxygenation of the blood: Experience from antarctic seals, knockout mice and ARDS"
2000 Peter Agre, Baltimore "Aquaporin water channel proteins: Nature´s plumbing system in mammals, microbes and plants"
1999 Linda Buck, Bostom "Deconstructing Smell"
1998 Richard Palmiter, Seattle "Life without noradrenaline"
1997 Paul Patterson, Pasadena "Cytokine regulation of neuronal gene expression and the neuroimmune response to injury"
1996 John A Clements, San Fransisco "The roles of pulmonary surfactant in lung function"
1995 Thomas M Jessell, New York "Genetic control of neural cell fate in vertebrates"
1994 Raphael Mechoulam, Jerusalem “The long, unpaved road to a family of endogenous cannabinoid ligands - the anandamides”
1993 Philippe Ascher, Paris "Modulations of the NMDA glutamate receptor"
1992 Robert J Lefkowitz, Durham "The molecular biology and physiology of adrenoceptors"
1991 Salvador Moncada, London "The discovery and biological significance of the L-arginine nitric oxide pathway"
1990 G C Liggins, Auckland "Prostanoids and parturition"
1989 Robert F Furchgott, New York "Present status of the endothelium-derived relaxing factor"
1988 Fred Lembeck, Graz "Substance P: From extract to excitement”"
1987 Rodolfo R Llinas, New York "What can single cell electrophysiology tell us about global brain function? Lessons from the cerebellum"
1986 Eric R Kandel, New York "Cell and molecular biological approaches to learning: On the relationship between short-term and long-term memory"
1985 Geoffrey Burnstock, London "The Changing Face of Autonomic Neurotransmission"