Cellular / Molecular

Cellular/Molecular neuroscientists study how neurons control their excitable behaviour, how they receive and process incoming information, and how they communicate with other neurons via synapses.

Image of nerve cells
Credit: iStock.

Scientists in this field utilize a wide range of research technologies to decipher the molecular and biophysical basis of neuronal function, as well as the interplay between neurons and glial cells.

Cellular and molecular neuroscience research often links with other fields such as stem cell biology, and have implications for disease mechanisms in many nervous system disorders.

Group leaders and research areas

Ernest Arenas. Development and generation of dopamine neurons

Christian Broberger, Brain networks controlling homeostatic processes

Lennart Brodin, Presynaptic mechanisms

Gonçalo Castelo-Branco, Epigenetic states during oligodendrocyte development

Sandra Ceccatelli, Developmental neurotoxicology

Karima Chergui, Molecular neurophysiology

Abdel El Manira, Neuromodulation in spinal locomotor networks

Patrik Ernfors, Molecular neurobiology

Anna Falk, Induced pluripotent stem cells

André Fisahn, Neuronal oscillations

Gilberto Fisone,Molecular neuropharmacology

Bertil Fredholm, Molecular neuropharmacology

Kjell Fuxe, Molecular neuropharmacology

Sten Grillner, The cellular bases of motor behaviour

Tibor Harkany, Neurodevelopment, endocannabinoid signaling

Ola Hermanson, Neuronal development and differentiation

Jens Hjerling-Leffler, Genetics of adolescent brain development

Tomas Hökfelt, Chemical neurotransmission

Carlos Ibáñez, Functions and signaling mechanisms of growth factors

Lars Jakobsson, Regulation of vascular integrity in the CNS

Håkan Karlsson, Molecular genetic studies of schizophrenia

Juha Kere, Genetics and molecular biology of dyslexia and cognitive development

Ole Kiehn, Mammalian locomotor lab

François Lallemend, Sensory neuron specification and connectivity

Thomas Perlmann, Molecular developmental biology and stem cells

Agneta Richter-Dahlfors, Tissue microbiology, organic bioelectronics

Gunnar Schulte, Receptor biology and signaling

Oleg Shupliakov, Neuronal membrane trafficking

Gilad Silberberg, Cortico-striatal microcircuitry

Roger Strömberg, Nucleic acids for diagnostics and gene therapy

Cecilia Söderberg-Nauclér, Neural differentiation and cancer development

Per Uhlén, Intracellular signaling

Peter Århem, Ion channels

Content reviewer: