Imaging research

Denna sida på svenska

 

Structural and functional neuroimaging play an important role in understanding the underlying mechanisms of different dementia disorders, potentially contributing to their management and diagnosis. Our research at the division of Clinical Geriatrics is focused on the assessment of the most common forms of dementia including Alzheimer’s disease (AD), dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB), vascular dementia (VaD), frontotemporal lobar degeneration (FTD) and dementia in Parkinson’s disease (PDD).  

 We have a strong interest in different magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) techniques, such as structural MRI, magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS),  functional MRI (task and resting state), diffusion tensor imaging (DTI), arterial spin labeling (ASL) and susceptibility weighted imaging (SWI).  In addition to MRI, we work with other imaging modalities, such as positron emission tomography (PET) (amyloid and glucose) and computed tomography (CT). Currently we perform image analyses using several automated softwares (Freesurfer, FSL, SPM etc.) as well as in-house developed algorithms. We also have a strong tradition and extensive experience in manual outlining and visual assessment. Multivariate and machine learning techniques (support vector machines (SVM) and orthogonal partial least squares (OPLS)) are also used for analyzing large amounts of data from multimodal/multicenter studies.

We believe it is important to work with the latest neuroimaging techniques to obtain a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms of the different diseases, to improve early diagnosis and differential diagnosis.

These methods need to be carefully validated in large research cohorts such as AddNeuroMed, ADNI and AIBL as well as in heterogeneous memory clinic cohorts and population based cohorts.

Researchgroup leaders Agneta Nordberg, Eric Westman and Lars-Olof Wahlund

Professor, senior

Agneta Nordberg

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: Agneta.K.Nordberg@ki.se

 

Senior lecturer

Eric Westman

Phone: +46-(0)73-655 51 79
Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: Eric.Westman@ki.se

 

Professor, senior

Lars-Olof Wahlund

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: Lars-Olof.Wahlund@ki.se

Collaborators

Scholar

Alejandra Machado

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: alejandra.machado@ki.se

Associated

Andrew Simmons

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: andy.simmons@ki.se

Graduate Student

Antoine Leuzy

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: antoine.leuzy@ki.se

Senior researcher

Elena Rodriguez-Vieitez

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: elena.rodriguez-vieitez@ki.se

PhD student

Farshad Falahati

Organizational unit: Westman
E-mail: farshad.falahati@ki.se

Associated

Gabriela Spulber

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: Gabriela.Spulber@ki.se

Graduate Student

Gustav Mårtensson

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: gustav.martensson@ki.se

Assistant professor

Joana Pereira

Organizational unit: Westman
E-mail: joana.pereira@ki.se

Array

Konstantinos Chiotis

Organizational unit: Nordberg
E-mail: konstantinos.chiotis@ki.se

Graduate Student

Konstantinos Poulakis

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: konstantinos.poulakis@ki.se

Assistant professor

Laetitia Lemoine

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: laetitia.lemoine@ki.se

Associated

Love Nordin

Phone: +46-(0)8-585 859 91
Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: love.nordin@ki.se

Graduate Student

Olga Voevodskaya

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: olga.voevodskaya@ki.se

Assistant professor

Olof Lindberg

E-mail: olof.lindberg@ki.se
 

Postdoc

Urban Ekman

Organizational unit: Westman
E-mail: urban.ekman@ki.se

Associated

Xiaozhen Li

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical geriatrics
E-mail: xiaozhen.li@ki.se

 

DementiaGeriatricsImagingRadiology