Mikael Karlsson Group - Team

Group members, associates, alumni and collaborators of the Mikael Karlsson research group.

Group members

Associated People


  • Pia Dosenovic, Rockefeller University, USA, laboratory of Prof. Michel Nussenzweig.




  • Anna-Maria Georgoudaki, PhD: Dissertation 2015, Karolinska Institutet. Thesis Exploring Immunotherapeutic Targets in the Tumor Microenvironment (opponent: Prof. Siamon Gordon, Oxford University, UK). Anna-Maria left the lab for a postdoc at Rockefeller University, New York, USA.
  • Eva Hellqvist, Postdoc: Left the lab in 2015 for a second postdoc at department of Medicine, Huddinge, Karolinska Institutet.
  • Mattias Forsell, Postdoc: Left the lab in 2015 for a position as Assistant Professor at Umeå University.
  • Kajsa Prokopec, Postdoc: Did a joint postdoc with Harvard Med. School the lab of Prof. Michael Carroll. Kajsa left the lab in 2014 to do a second postdoc at the department of Medicine, Solna, Karolinska Institutet.
  • Yunying Chen, Postdoc/Assistant Professor: Left the lab in 2014. Yunying studied innate B cell activation in Allergy and Autoimmunity and left to pursue a continued science career in the biotech industry.
  • Emilie Grasset, PhD: Dissertation 2013, Karolinska Institutet. Thesis: Regulation of B cell Responses to Modified Self (opponent: Prof. John Kearney, University of Alabama, USA). Emilie left the lab for Postdoc at Mount Sinai School of medicine, New York, USA, supported by the Swedish Research Council.
  • Evelina Lindmark, PhD (co-supervisor): Dissertation 2013, Karolinska Institutet. Thesis: Studies on peripheral tolerance in AIRE deficient mice (opponent Dr Eric Meffre, Yale Univ, USA). Evelina continued as postdoc at dept. of Medicine, Karolinska Institutet.
  • Sara Lind, PhD: Dissertation 2010, Karolinska Institutet. Thesis: Innate Mechanisms Regulating B cell Activation in Inflammatory Diseases (opponent: Prof. Ann Marshak-Rothstein, Boston, USA). Sara left the lab for postoc at MBB, Karolinska Institutet.
  • Fredrik Wermeling, PhD: Dissertation 2010, Karolinska Institutet. Thesis: Innate Mechanisms regulating peripheral B cell tolerance (opponent: Prof. Keith Elkon, Washington, USA). Fredrik received a Wenner Gren fellow postdoc fellowship and left the lab for posdoc at the Rockefeller University, New York.
  • Emma Lindh, PhD: (co-supervisor) Dissertation 2009, Karolinska Institutet. Thesis: The autoimmune regulator; studies of immunological tolerance in mouse and man (opponent: Prof. Susanna Cardell, Gothenburg, Sweden). Emma left the lab for employment by the ITH biotech company as senior scientist.
  • Nina Mattsson, MSc: Left the lab in 2005 to work as a clinical research associate (CRA) for monitoring clinical trials.


  • University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada: Prof. Tak Mak
  • Rockefeller University, New York, USA: Prof. Jeffrey Ravetch
  • NIH, Bethesda, USA: Prof. Susan Pierce
  • Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA: Prof. Michael Carroll and Prof. Michael Brenner
  • University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada: Assoc. Prof. Tracy McGaha
  • University of St Antonio, Texas, USA: Assoc. Prof. Elisabet Leadbetter
  • University of Erlangen-Nurnberg, Germany: Prof. Falk Nimmerjahn and Prof. Diana Dudziak
  • Gothenburg University, Sweden: Dr Åsa Tivesten
  • Karolinska Institutet, Sweden: Prof. Göran Hansson, Dr Elisabet Svenungson, Prof. Gunilla Karlsson Hedestam, Prof. Robert Harris, Prof. Vivianne Malmström; Associate Professors, Lisa Westerberg, Susanne Gabrielsson, Benedict Chambers, Charlotte Rolny, Rikard Sandberg, Stephen Malin and Jonas Fuxe.
  • Uppsala University, Sweden: Dr Johan Botling
  • Umeå University, Sweden: Dr Malin Sund

Contact and visit us

Postal address

Karolinska Institutet
Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biologt
171 77 Stockholm

Visiting address (visitors, couriers, etc.)

Karolinska Institutet
Solnavägen 9
171 65 Solna

Delivery address (goods, parcels, etc.)

Tomtebodavägen 16
171 65 Solna

Where to find us

Karolinska Institutet, Biomedicum, Solnavägen 9

Content reviewer:
Sara Lidman