Group members - Annika Karlsson group

Learn more about the members of Annika Karlsson's research group.

Annika Karlsson
Annika Karlsson, docent and research group leader at the Department of Laboratory Medicine, Karolinska Institutet Photo: Stefan Zimmerman

Research group leader

Annika Karlsson, researcher

I obtained an undergraduate degree in Biomedical Laboratory Science, specializing within the field of clinical microbiology and immunology. Subsequently, I earned an PhD-degree in clinical virology from KI in 2000.

I have extensive experience managing multiple research projects in the following areas: clinical virology and immunology, virus- and cancer-specific T cell responses, MHC-peptide-TCR interactions, antigen-specific T cell function and exhaustion in blood and tissue, transcriptional activation and regulation of T cell responses, bioinformatics, HIV pathogenesis, molecular biology, viral evolution, antiretroviral therapy, antiretroviral (drug) resistance.

Group members

From August 2023 – April 2024

Jia Qi Lee, Final Year Project (FYP), Biological Sciences undergraduate from Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

Other assignments

Annika C Karlsson, Facility Director, ANA Futura BSL3 Core Facility


Carina Pérez, PhD student

Carina defended her PhD in 2011. Part of Carina’s doctoral research was carried out a Gladstone Institutes, University of California, San Francisco together with Prof Douglas Nixon. Today, Carina is Recruitment Consultant at QRIOS Life Science & Engineering, Sweden.

Melissa Norström, PhD student

Melissa defended her PhD in 2012. Part of her doctoral research was carried out at Department of Pathology of the University of Florida College of Medicine together with Prof Marco Salemi. After this she continued as a postdoctoral fellow at Centre for Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplantation (CAST), Department of Oncology and Pathology, KI, Stockholm, Sweden. Currently she is a Consultant in Medical Affairs, Medicine Doctor and CEO of Florebit AB.

Marcus Buggert, PhD student, Postdoctoral Fellow

Marcus defended his PhD in 2014. He was awarded the Sven Gards stipendium for the best PhD thesis in virologi at KI during 2014. He also received international postdoc grant from the Swedish research council 2014 and joined Dr. Michael Betts lab, Department of Microbiology, University of Pennsylvania, PA, USA. In 2017 he returned to KI, Department of Medicine as an Assistant Professor and became group leader in 2019

Johanna Taurianen, PhD student

Johanna defended her PhD in 2016. She continued her studies on viral-associated CD8 and NK cell responses as a Postdoctoral Fellow in Dr. Jonas Klingström group, Department of Medicine, Center for Infectious Medicine – CIM, Karolinska Institutet. Currently, she is working as a Scientist på Anocca AB, Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden.

Lydia Scharf, PhD student

Lydia defended her PhD in 2020. After graduation Lydia continued her research path as a Postdoctoral Fellow in Group Davide Angeletti, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Gothenburg, Sweden. Lydia is currently investigating B cell responses to COVID19 after infection and vaccination.   

Marion Humbert, Postdoctoral fellow

Marion carried out her postdoctoral projects in the group 2020 – 2022, while being involved in several projects, including investigation of the role of cross-reactive SARS-CoV-2 T cell immunity in relation to age (Karlsson AC, Sci Immunol. 2020; Humbert, PNAS. 2023). Marion is currently a postdoctoral fellow in Prof Johan Sandberg’s group at CIM, KI.

Content reviewer: