Skip to main content

Unit of Integrative Toxicology

Our research ranges from basic, mechanistic research in cell systems, over computer modeling and applied research with human volunteers to practical applications.

The aim is to explore areas central to toxicological risk assessment, with focus on the work environment, indoor air and chemical disasters. One theme is acute effects and toxicokinetics, another concerns the physiological role of the Ah-receptor.

The research areas are:

  • Human exposure chamber: toxicokinetics and subtle acute effects
  • Toxicity models: PBPK, dermal uptake, population models, dose-response, QSAR
  • The physiological role of the Ah receptor: in vitro and clinical studies

Expert Committees

We participate in a number of expert committees that evaluate chemical hazards in the workplace as well as releases during chemical accidents. Evaluations are performed on national and international basis in close collaboration with other Swedish, Nordic, European and American experts.

Head of Unit


Lena Palmberg

Telefon: 08-524 822 10
Enhet: Integrativ toxikologi

Research groups

Unit members

Anna-Karin AlexandrieAnknuten

Antero Vieira Da SilvaDoktorand

Zahra DehghaniAnknuten

Michela Di CriscioAnknuten

Elina DrakvikSamordnare

Elin EngdahlPostdoc

Lena ErnstgårdForskare

08-524 822 26

Koustav GangulyForskare

Gunnar JohansonProfessor, senior

08-524 877 52

Anneli JulanderForskare

08-524 800 52

Jill JärnbergAnknuten

Maria LagreliusDoktorand

Kjell LarssonProfessor emeritus

Carola LidénProfessor emeritus

Polina LizunkovaAnknuten

Johnny LorentzenDocent

Klara MidanderForskarassistent

Peter MoldeusProfessor emeritus

Lena PalmbergProfessor

08-524 822 10

Agneta RannugProfessor emeritus

Joelle RüeggForskare

08-524 885 18

Pooria SabouriAnknuten

073-510 98 76

Linda SchenkForskarassistent

Bengt SjögrenForskare

08-524 822 29

Urban SvedbergForskare

Tania Ahalya ThimrajAnknuten

Swapna UpadhyayForskarassistent

Emma VincentForskare

Carolina VogsPostdoc

Mattias ÖbergForskare


Gunnar Johanson

Anneli Julander

Lena Palmberg