Cancer Research KI supported research

Cancer research KI invests in human capital by research grants for young researchers and innovative research. All grants are sought in open competition and awarded through selection by external review.

Blue Sky Research Grants

2014 

Katja Petzold

Telefon:08-524 876 47

E-post:katja.petzold@ki.se

Katja Petzold is active at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics and the project is entitled "How microRNA selects its targets".

 

2013 Bertrand Joseph, Stephen Strom

Bertrand Joseph

Enhet:Toxikologi

E-post:Bertrand.Joseph@ki.se

Bertrand Joseph is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "Cellular Reprogramming in Glioma Tumors."

Stephen Strom

Enhet:Avdelningen för patologi

E-post:stephen.strom@ki.se

Stephen Strom is active at the Department of Laboratory Medicine and the project is entitled "Humanized Models of Liver Cancer".

 

2012 Jonas Fuxe

Jonas Fuxe

Enhet:Jonas Fuxe grupp

E-post:jonas.fuxe@ki.se

Jonas Fuxe is active at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics and the project is entitled "Long-distance impact of inflammation on tumor cell invasion and metastasis."'

 

Investigator-Initiated Clinical Trial

2014

Petter Höglund

Telefon:08-585 801 74

Enhet:Enheten för hematologi

E-post:Petter.Hoglund@ki.se

Petter Höglund is active at the Department of Medicine, Huddinge and the project is entitled "Acid stripping of platelet HLA before transfusion: A first clinical trial to test efficiency and safety in haematological cancer patients“.

Theodoros Foukakis

Enhet:Forskargrupp Bergh, Jonas

E-post:Theodoros.Foukakis@ki.se

Theodoros Foukakis is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "CLinical IMpact of Breast Cancer Biomarker HETerogeneity assessed by Single-Cell In Situ Assays - CLIMBBHET"

 

2012 

Jeanette Lundin and Anders Österborg are both at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "Phase I (II) study of the combination of lenalidomide and alemtuzumab in patients with chemotherapy refractory chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)."

Jeanette Lundin

Enhet:Forskargrupp Österborg, Anders

E-post:Jeanette.Lundin@ki.se

Anders Österborg

E-post:Anders.Osterborg@ki.se

 

Senior Research Fellow Positions

2014 

Johan Holmberg

Telefon:08-524 871 08

Enhet:Holmberg

E-post:Johan.Holmberg@ki.se

Johan Holmberg is active at the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) and his research proposal is entitled “The role of the chromatin remodeler CHD5 for tumor suppression in the nervous system”.

Ola Larsson

Telefon:08-524 812 28

Enhet:Forskargrupp Larsson Ola

E-post:Ola.Larsson@ki.se

Ola Larsson is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) and his research proposal is entitled “Exploring links between mRNA-metabolism and -translation in breast cancer”.

 

Research Associate Positions

2013 

Lotta Hansson

Enhet:Forskargrupp Österborg, Anders

E-post:lotta.hansson@ki.se

Lotta Hansson was granted a Research Associate Position in Translational Cancer Research. She is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "Development of targeted therapy for chronic lymphocytic leukemia."

Roland Nilsson

Enhet:Forskargrupp R Nilsson

E-post:roland.nilsson@ki.se

Roland Nilsson was granted a Research Associate Position in Basic Cancer Research. He is active at the Department of Medicine, Solna and the project is entitled "Charting cancer cell metabolism using next-generation metabolomics methods"

 

2011

Marianne Farnebo

Enhet:Farnebo

E-post:Marianne.Farnebo@ki.se

Marianne Farnebo is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "WRAP53 as a new prognostic marker and target for cancer therapy."

Kristian Pietras, then at the Department of Medical Biosciences and Biophysics at KI, received funding for the project is entitled "Exploring targeting opportunities within the pro-angiogenic tumor stroma." Kristian has relocated to Lund University.

 

KI-MDACC Collaborative Grants

2014 

Joanna Zawacka-Pankau from the department of Microbiology, Tumour and Cell biology (MTC) for the project "Drug repositioning for pharmacological manipulation of p53 family members in p53 mutant and deficient lung tumors". Project partners: Elsa Flores (MDACC) and Kristian Berg (Oslo Radium Hospital).

Nicola Crosetto

E-post:nicola.crosetto@ki.se

Nicola Crosetto from the department of Medical Biophysics and Biochemistry (MBB) for the project "Integrating SINgle-CEll Technologies to Advance Personalized ONCology – SINCELONC". Project partner: Nicholas Navin (MDACC).

 

2013

Katarina Le Blanc

Enhet:Avdelningen för Klinisk Immunologi o Transfusionsmedicin

E-post:Katarina.Leblanc@ki.se

Evren Alici

Telefon:08-585 836 46

Enhet:Enheten för hematologi

E-post:Evren.Alici@ki.se

Katarina Le Blanc & Evren Alici from the Department of Laboratory Medicine for the project "Curative cell-based therapies for chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)". Project partners: Katy Rezvani (MDACC), Ten Feizi (Imperial College, London).

Jonas Bergh

Telefon:08-517 743 10

Enhet:Forskargrupp Bergh, Jonas

E-post:Jonas.Bergh@ki.se

Jonas Bergh & Hanjing Xie from the Department of Oncology-Pathology for the project "Development Of A Predictive Genomic Diagnostic Test For Survival Benefit From Everolimus (mTOR Inhibitor) Combined With Endocrine Therapy For Metastatic HR+/HER2- Breast Cancer". Project partner: W. Fraser Symmans (MDACC).

Janne Lehtiö

Telefon:08-524 814 16

Enhet:Forskargrupp Lehtiö, Janne

E-post:Janne.Lehtio@ki.se

Janne Lehtiö from the Department of Oncology-Pathology for the project "Proteomic biomarkers facilitating personalized cancer medicine". Project partners: Gordon Mills (MDACC), Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale (Oslo University Hospital).

 

KI-DKFZ Joint Project Grants

2012

Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren

Enhet:Centrum för infektionsmedicin

E-post:Hans-Gustaf.Ljunggren@ki.se

Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren (Department of Medicine, Huddinge, KI) and Adelheid Cerwenka (DKFZ) for the project "Role of Natural Killer (NK) cells in hepatocellular cancer (HCC) pathogenesis."

Guillem Genové

Enhet:Institutionen för medicin, Huddinge (MedH), H7

E-post:Guillem.Genove@ki.se

Guillem Genove (Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, KI) and Hellmut Augustin (DKFZ) for the project "Molecular identification and characterization of pericyte signatures during health and disease."

 

MD/PhD grants 2011

2011

Adam Stenman

Enhet:Endokrin kirurgi

E-post:Adam.Stenman@ki.se

Adam Stenman, Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery: "Genetic and molecular aspects on pheochromocytoma malignancy."

Tobias Nordström

E-post:Tobias.Nordstrom@ki.se

Tobias Nordström, Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics: "Predicting prostate cancer - on the use of biomarkers and risk modelling in prostate cancer."

 

Grants for Clinicians 2011

2011

Olof Akre

Enhet:Urologi

E-post:Olof.Akre@ki.se

Olof Akre, Department of Medicine, Solna: "Prognostic factors in prostate cancer."

Martin Jädersten

Enhet:Enheten för hematologi

E-post:Martin.Jadersten@ki.se

Martin Jädersten, Department of Medicine, Huddinge: "Molecular pathogenesis of myelodysplastic syndromes."