Cancer Research KI list of cancer research PIs across KI, H to S

Please find the head and neck cancer, health care sciences within cancer, Kidney cancer, liver bile and duct cancers, lung cancer, muscoskeletal cancer, prostate cancer, sarcomas, and skin cancer researchers at KI listed in the tables below.

Note that this is an initial list that may still contain errors in part because the response rate on the conducted survey was below a hundred per cent. We would therefore like you to be in contact with us if you find that your name has been erroneously entered or if you would like to complete the current information in any way. Please send your update request to cancerresearchki@ki.se.

Contact details for the researchers can be found through the KI search function on the top right-hand side of this page.

Head and neck cancer research

Head and neck
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Lars-Olaf Cardell lars-olaf.cardell@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec) Introduction of immunological markers in lymph nodes for staging and therapeutics selection in head and neck cancer.
Tina Dalianis tina.dalianis@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Caroline Gahm caroline.gahm@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec)
Karin Garming Legert karin.garming.legert@ki.se Department of Dental Medicine (DentMed)
Eva Munck Af Rosenschöld Wikland eva.munck-wikland@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec)
Rachael Sugars rachael.sugars@ki.se Department of Dental Medicine (DentMed) Developing clinical and pathological diagnostics for oral complications after hematopoietic cell transplantation in the form of Graft versus Host Disease (GVHD). Clinical studies along with the use of machine learning approaches work to refine oral mucosal and salivary gland cGVHD pathogenesis, diagnostic criteria and the search for predictive biomarkers. https://ki.se/en/dentmed/oral-biology-and-medicine-group
Weimin Ye weimin.ye@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)

Health Care Sciences, cancer research

Health care sciences
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Linda Björkhem-Bergman linda.bjorkhem-bergman@ki.se Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society (NVS) Cancer research in Palliative Care. Clinical and translational studies. https://medarbetare.ki.se/orgid/53012309
Pernilla Lagergren pernilla.lagergren@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) We are investigating factors that influence survivorship after oesophageal and gastric cancer in order to personalise and individualise the care after cancer. https://ki.se/en/mmk/surgical-care-science
Claudia Lampic claudia.lampic@ki.se Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH) Focus on survivorship and quality of life in young adults with cancer. Leads research program Fertility and sexuality following cancer (Fex-Can). https://ki.se/en/kbh/fex-can-fertility-and-sexuality-following-cancer
Ann Langius-Eklöf ann.langius-eklof@ki.se Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society (NVS) To evaluate the effects of routine use of an app of diagnose/treatment related symptoms and concerns regarding symptom burden, quality of life, cost-effectiveness and survival. https://ki.se/nvs/icare
Annika Lindahl Norberg annika.lindahl.norberg@ki.se Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM)
Pernilla Pergert pernilla.pergert@ki.se Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH) We perform childhood cancer healthcare research, focusing on intercultural care & clinical ethics. https://ki.se/en/kbh/childhood-cancer-healthcare-research
Lena Sharp lena.sharp@ki.se Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics (LIME)
David Tamborero david.tamborero@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) > analyses of omics data to better understand cancer mechanisms and therapeutic opportunities> development of bioinformatic tools to support the clinical decision making https://ki.se/en/onkpat/janne-lehtios-group
Carol Tishelman carol.tishelman@ki.se Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics (LIME) I am primarily working with end-of-life care issues from a public health palliative care perspective at present.This research line is not cancer-specific.I have previously researched symptom experiences, primarily related to lung cancer, as well as secondary cancer prevention https://www.xn--dbra-5qa.se/en/

Kidney (renal cell) and urinary tract cancer research

Kidney (renal cell) and urinary tract
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Andreas Lundqvist andreas.lundqvist@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Our research focus on studies to understand how natural killer cells and T cells are regulated in patients with cancer. With this knowledge we aim to develop improved immunotherapies in patients with cancer. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/andreas-lundqvists-group
Lars Egevad lars.egevad@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)

Liver Bile duct Pancreas cancer research

Liver Bile duct Pancreas
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Soo Aleman soo.aleman@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH)
Emma Andersson emma.andersson@ki.se Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB)
Annika Bergquist annika.bergquist@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH) Biomarkets for eraly detection of cholangiocarcinoma https://ki.se/en/medh/annika-bergquist-group
Ulf Eriksson ulf.pe.eriksson@ki.se Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB) The role of obesity ans diabetes on cancer development, focussing on the liver and liver cancer
Marco Gerling marco.gerling@ki.se Department of Biosciences and Nutrition (BioNut)
Karin Lindahl karin.lindahl@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH)
Matti Sällberg matti.sallberg@ki.se Department of Laboratory Medicine (LabMed)
Margaret Sällberg Chen margaret.chen@ki.se Department of Dental Medicine (DentMed) Targeting cancer-associated pathogens for early cancer prevention and treatment
Johan Sandberg johan.sandberg@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH) We investigate the role of unconventional T cells (MAIT cells) in tissues, tumors and treatment. https://ki.se/en/medh/johan-sandberg-group
Ernesto Sparrelid ernesto.sparrelid@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec) Liver and pancreatic cancer surgery, liver regeneration, liver immunology and pancreatic cystic lesions. Both clinical and translational research.
Miroslav Vujasinovic Miroslav Vujasinovic Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH)
Niklas Björkström niklas.bjorkstrom@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH) We study human tumor immunology with a focus on liver cancer making use of rare fresh clinical tissue samples and the latest single cell methods. https://ki.se/en/medh/niklas-bjorkstrom-group-human-tissue-resident-nk-…
Per Stål per.stal@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH) Blood-bourne biomarkers for early detection of hepatocellular carcinoma.Prognostic biomarkers for treatment response of hepatocelluler carcinoma. https://ki.se/en/medh/stal-and-wahlin-group

Lung cancer research

Lung
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Isabel Barragán isabel.barragan@ki.se Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (Fyfa) Identification of molecular biomarkers of response to cancer immunotherapy. Generation of reponse and prognosis prediction models combining molecular and clinicopathological variables. Abscopal response mechanisms. Any cancer treated with immunotherapy. https://ki.se/en/fyfa/pharmacoepigenetics
Britt-Marie Bernhardson britt-marie.bernhardson@ki.se Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics (LIME)
Luigi De Petris luigi.depetris@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Clinical factors of importance for immunotherapy in non-small cell (NSCLC), and biomarker studies in relation to treatment pathways in small-cell lung cancer (SCLC) https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-luigi-de-petris
Katalin Dobra katalin.dobra@ki.se Department of Laboratory Medicine (LabMed) My focus is molecular profiling and understanding of cell-matrix interactions in aggressive mesenchymal tumours. By molecular modifications we can revert this EMT like phenomenon and tumour cells achieve an epithelioid differentiation. I also study both in experimental and clinical settings various tumor driving mutations and angiogenic factors and by combining various genome wide analyses with ex vivo drug sensitivity/resistence profiling we can pinpoint individual fingerprints of tumours and match them with the best suited individualised therapy. https://ki.se/en/labmed/research-group-katalin-dobra
Simon Ekman simon.ekman@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Lars E. Eriksson lars.eriksson@ki.se Department of Learning, Informatics, Management and Ethics (LIME) Translational aspects with patient reported outcome measures and biomarkers https://ki.se/en/lime/division-of-innovative-care-research
Bo Franzén bo.franzen@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) 3. Development of fine needle based molecular cytology for personalized cancer medicine:https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-lewensohnviktorssonlindberg https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-lewensohnviktorssonlindberg
Per Hydbring per.hydbring@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) To investigate novel RNA-based therapies and RNA-based diagnostics in non-small cell lung cancer.
Veronica Jackson Veronica.Jackson@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Outcome following thoraic cancer surgery https://ki.se/mmk/thoraxkirurgi
Janne Lehtiö janne.lehtio@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Cancer proteogenomics from methods development to biological and translational research. Connecting molecular phenotype, proteome level information to improve targeted and immunotherapy in cancer. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/janne-lehtios-group
Rolf Lewensohn rolf.lewensohn@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Karin Lindberg karin.lindberg@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Integration of stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT)  in the metastastic setting and evaluation of SBRT to centrally  located lung lesions.  https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-lewensohnviktorssonlindberg
Knut Lönnroth knut.lonnroth@ki.se Department of Global Public Health (GPH)
Nicole Marquardt nicole.marquardt@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH) We strive towards a better understanding on the immunological landscape within the human lung. https://ki.se/en/medh/team-nicole-marquardt-human-tissue-resident-nk-ce…
Erik Norberg Helin.Norberg@ki.se Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (Fyfa) The main focus of our research is to dissect the cells own quality control mechanisms to develop novel therapeutic strategies to selectively target pathogenic proteins in cancer. https://ki.se/en/fyfa/helin-norberg-lab-protein-degradation-pathways
Ulla Stenius Ulla.Stenius@ki.se Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM)
Kristina Viktorsson kristina.viktorsson@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Analyses of Ephrin/Eph and extracelluar vesicles for lung cancer biomarkers. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-lewensohnviktorssonlindberg
Boris Zhivotovsky boris.zhivotovsky@ki.se Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM) Why some tumor cells are resistant to cell death?

Musculoskeletal cancer research

Musculoskeletal
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Larsson Lars lars.larsson@ki.se Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (Fyfa) Mechanmisms underlying cancer cachexia. Intervention strategies.
Panagiotis Tsagkozis panagiotis.tsagkozis@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Bone and soft-tissue sarcomas. Bone metastases and pathological fracture treatment.
Rikard Wedin Rikard.wedin@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) AI-baserade Prognostiska beslutsstöd för behandling av skelettmetastaspatienter.Registerhållare RCC’s Internationella register för kirurgiskt behandlade skelettmetastaspatienter.

Prostate cancer research

Prostate
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Olof Akre olof.akre@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK)
Stephanie Bonn stephanie.bonn@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS)
Stefan Carlsson stefan.carlsson@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Improve diagnosing prostate cancer. https://medarbetare.ki.se/orgid/5201150
Mark Clements mark.clements@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) Health economic evaluation of cancer screening
Martin Eklund martin.eklund@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Henrik Grönberg henrik.gronberg@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Jan-Åke Gustafsson jan-ake.gustafsson@ki.se Department of Biosciences and Nutrition (BioNut)
Ove Gustafsson ove.gustafsson@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec)
Johan Lindberg johan.lindberg@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) Broad DNA- and RNA sequencing in the context of randomised clinical trials and retrospective research on large cohorts.
Sten Nilsson sten.nilsson@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Fredrik Wiklund fredrik.wiklund@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) Population-based genetic epidemiological studies of testicular and prostate cancer.
Peter Wiklund Peter.Wiklund@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK)

Sarcomas research

Sarcomas
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Monika Ehnman monika.ehnman@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Translational studies on the sarcoma tumor microenvironment, multiplex immunostaining of patient cohorts, stromal cell and immune cell biomarkers. http://staff.ki.se/people/monehn
Panagiotis Tsagkozis panagiotis.tsagkozis@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Sarcomas and metastatic bone disease

Skin cancer research

Skin
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Suzanne Egyhazi Brage suzanne.egyhazi.brage@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Translational research in cutaneous melanoma. The main focus is identification of biomarkers to predict efficacy of targeted therapies and immunotherapies. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/johan-hanssons-group
Lennart Emtestam lennart.emtestam@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH)
Maria Genander maria.genander@ki.se Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) We are interested in bridging normal stem and progenitor cell function to cancer. https://ki.se/en/cmb/maria-genanders-group
Johan Hansson johan.hansson@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Translational research in melanoma focusing on predictive and prognostic markers.
Rikard Holmdahl rikard.holmdahl@ki.se Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB) Redox control of the immune response to cancer. http://ki.se/en/mbb/research-division-of-medical-inflammation-research
Carlos Ibanez carlos.ibanez@ki.se Department of Neuroscience (NEURO) Physiological Roles and Signaling Mechanisms of Death Receptor p75NTR: Application to Drug Discovery in Melanoma and other Cancers
Maria Kasper maria.kasper@ki.se Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) Skin cancer. We study the cellular heterogeneity, molecular signals and niche importance in healthy skin and skin cancer (BCC, SCC, Melanoma), using single-cell transcriptomics, computational biology, spatial tissue mapping, human tissue, and mouse models. https://kasperlab.org/
Rolf Kiessling rolf.kiessling@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Performing clinical cell therapy trials with TIL cells and DC tumor vaccines.Investigating tumor escape mechanisms and how to overcome these. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/rolf-kiesslings-group
Stig Ollmar stig.ollmar@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec)
Andor Pivarcsi andor.pivarcsi@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS) We investigate the role of non-coding RNAs in different forms of skin cancers.
Ulrik Ringborg ulrik.ringborg@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Stefan Seregard stefan.seregard@ki.se Department of Clinical Neuroscience (CNS)
Fredrik Wermeling fredrik.wermeling@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS) My group studies cancer drug response, including a novel immunotherapy that triggers a metabolic phenotype. We use CRISPR and CRISPR screens to find combinatorial drug targets.