Cancer Research KI list of cancer research PIs across KI, C to G

Please find the cancer epidemiology, endocrine organ cancer, gastrointestinal tract cancer, general imaging within cancer and gynaecological organ cancer researchers at KI listed in the tables below.

Note that this is list is not complete and may still contain errors because the response rate on the conducted survey was below 100%. We would therefore like you to be in contact with us if you find that your name has been erroneously entered or if you would like to complete the current information in any way. Please send your update request to cancerresearchki@ki.se.

Cancer epidemiology research

Cancer Epidemiology
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Hans-Olov Adami hans-olov.adami@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Agneta Åkesson Agneta.Akesson@ki.se Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM)
Olof Akre olof.akre@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) 1. Prognostic markers in prostate cancer to tailor the right treatment based on better discrimination between potentially lethal and more indolent disease. 2. large academic clinical trial comparing surgery and radiotherapy in locally advanced prostate cancer3. Following up surgical cohorts for assessing risk of side effects and rare complications.
Catarina Almqvist Malmros catarina.almqvist@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Therese Andersson therese.andersson@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) Statistical methods for estimating cancer patient survival and population-based descriptive cancer epidemiology. Have worked with a range of cancer sites, especially hematology.
Johan Askling johan.askling@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS)
Shahram Bahmanyar shahram.bahmanyar@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS)
Rino Bellocco rino.bellocco@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Nele Brusselaers nele.brusselaers@ki.se Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology (MTC) Effects of commonly prescribed drugs and the microbiome on the risk and survival of cancer.
Kamila Czene kamila.czene@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) I am breast cancer epidemiologists. Main focus of my research is genetic and mammographic factors of breast cancer prognosis
Paul Dickman paul.dickman@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Gustaf Edgren gustaf.edgren@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS)
Sandra Eloranta sandra.eloranta@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS) My main methodological interests are in statistical and epidemiological methods used for investigating population-based cancer patient survival and cancer survivorship issues, specifically in lymphoma. https://ki.se/en/meds/kep-cancer-epidemiology-group
Fang Fang fang.fang@ki.se Institute of Environmental Medicine (IMM) I focus on the mental health consequences of cancer as well as the comorbidity between cancer and mental disorders. https://ki.se/en/imm/unit-of-integrative-epidemiology
Sara Hägg sara.hagg@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) To find common pathways between aging and cancer development using large-scale epidemiological data. The main hypothesis is that accelerated biological aging is increasing the risk of cancer. https://ki.se/en/meb/molecular-epidemiological-studies-of-aging-and-age…
Kent Jardemark Kent.Jardemark@ki.se Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (Fyfa) Effects of antibodies targeting KRAS
Anna Johansson anna.johansson@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) Epidemiologist and biostatistician with research in register-based cancer epidemiology with a focus on integrating cancer survival methods with cancer quality registers. Population-based estimation of incidence and survival of breast cancer subtypes, as well as risks and outcomes of pregnancy-associated cancer.
Mats Lambe mats.lambe@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) Epidemiological research based on population based registers
Paul Lambert paul.lambert@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Annika Lindblom annika.lindblom@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK)
Caroline Nordenvall caroline.nordenvall@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Trying to explore clinical research questions regarding colorectal cancer patients using an epidemiological and translational approach. https://ki.se/mmk/forskning-kolorektal-kirurgi
Olof Nyren olof.nyren@ki.se Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB)
Juni Palmgren juni.palmgren@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Björn Pasternak bjorn.pasternak@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS) Investigation of drug safety concerns where the outcome is cancer. Pharmacoepidemiology using register data.
Marie Reilly marie.reilly@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Unnur Valdimarsdottir unnur.valdimarsdottir@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)

Endocrine organ cancer research

Endocrine organ
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Christofer Juhlin christofer.juhlin@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Molecular genetic studies of endocrine tumors for implementation in clinical routine practice. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-christofer-juhlin
Catharina Larsson catharina.larsson@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Molecular, functional and clinical aspects of endocrine tumor development https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-catharina-larsson
Jan Zedenius jan.zedenius@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) We look for prognostic factors in endocrine tumors, with the aim to individualize and optimize treament.

Gastrointestinal tract cancer research

Gastrointestinal tract
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Lauri Aaltonen lauri.aaltonen@ki.se Department of Biosciences and Nutrition (BioNut) Tumor genetics. Functional analyses of novel mutations/genetic aberrations that have been linked to colorectal cancer, to explore how these contribute to tumourigenesis.
Hans Grönlund hans.gronlund@ki.se Department of Clinical Neuroscience (CNS) I have taken a patented idea from the lab bench to a valid application to the Swedish MPA with CRC as first indication. The treatment is an ACT, cancer agnostic, in collaboration with Vecura, CTC, CAST, and clinical trial center NKS, Västerås hospital https://neogap.se/
Ulf Gustafsson ulf.gustafsson@ki.se Department of Clinical Sciences, Danderyd Hospital
Torbjörn Holm torbjorn.holm@ki.se Department of Clinical Science and Education, Södersjukhuset
Rolf Hultcrantz rolf.hultcrantz@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS) Colorectal cancer screening
Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg magnus.ingelman-sundberg@ki.se Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (Fyfa)
Pekka Katajisto pekka.katajisto@ki.se Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) We study the early steps of tumor initiation in the gastrointestinal tract. https://www.katajisto-lab.com/
Jesper Lagergren jesper.lagergren@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Aetiology of oesophageal and gastric cancer and associated conditions. Treatment (mainly surgical) of oesophageal and gastric cancer and associated conditions. https://ki.se/en/mmk/upper-gi-surgery
Mats Lindblad mats.lindblad@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec) I am studying effects of, and reasons for, regional differences in given care for oesophageal and gastric cancer in Sweden
Matthias Löhr matthias.lohr@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec) My work is focussed on pancreatic cancer, preclinical, translational, and clinical, including biomarkers and precision medicine. I have an interest in preneoplastic lesions (IPMN) and individuals at risk for hereditary cancer syndromes.
Jonas Ludvigsson jonas.ludvigsson@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)
Anna Martling anna.martling@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK)
Jenny Mjösberg jenny.mjosberg@ki.se Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH) We study intratumoral lymphocytes in colorectal cancer (CRC) and CRC-related peritoneal carcinomatosis (PC). To this end we are performing multidimensional single-cell analysis of proteins and transcripts in intratumoral innate lymphoid cells (ILCs) and T cells to reveal the characteristics, heterogeneity and functional parallels between ILCs and T cells which will advance our understanding of anti-tumor immunity in CRC and CRC+PC. https://mjosberglab.wixsite.com/ilcs
Erik Näslund erik.naslund@ki.se Department of Clinical Sciences, Danderyd Hospital
Magnus Nilsson magnus.nilsson@ki.se Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology (ClinTec) Clinical and translational research focused on esophageal and gastric cancer. The group runs several international academic randomized trials in the field. Biobanking and molecular tumor profiling both within the trials and in separate study settings is a focus area of the group.
Caroline Nordenvall caroline.nordenvall@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK) Research in colorectal surgery with focus on colorectal cancer end inflammatory bowel disease. https://ki.se/mmk/kolorektal-kirurgi
Magdalena Paolino magdalena.paolino@ki.se Department of Medicine, Solna (MedS) We study the role of ubiquitin-dependent pathways in cancer initiation, progression and metastasis. We explore its effects both at the level of the cancer cell as well as in the immune system anti-tumor responses. https://ki.se/en/meds/team-magdalena-paolino
Josefin Segelman josefin.segelman@ki.se Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK)
Cecilia Williams cecilia.williams@ki.se Department of Biosciences and Nutrition (BioNut) The role of hormones for cancer development and progression. Protective role in colorectal cancer, and related sex differences. https://ki.se/en/bionut/hormone-signalling-and-non-coding-rnas-in-cance…

General imaging, cancer research

General imaging
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Staffan Holmin staffan.holmin@ki.se Department of Clinical Neuroscience (CNS)
Sharon Stone-Elander sharon.stone-elander@ki.se Department of Clinical Neuroscience (CNS)
Thuy Tran thuy.tran@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) Our group develop novel radiopharmaceuticals for theranostics, including cyclotron production of exotic radiometals using solid target, evaluation studies in vitro and in vivo to clinical translation. We provide services in GMP manufacturing of radiopharmaceuticals (based on PET-emitting, SPECT-emitting radionuclides and therapeutic emitters such as 225Ac, 177Lu) for first-in-man and phase I/II/III studies. https://ki.se/en/onkpat/research-team-thuy-tran

Gynecological organ cancer research

Gynecological organ
First Name Surname KI email Department Description Group website
Sonia Andersson sonia.andersson@ki.se Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH)
Joseph Carlson joseph.carlson@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Joakim Dillner joakim.dillner@ki.se Department of Laboratory Medicine (LabMed) My research focuses on cervical cancer prevention, such as optimization of the gynecological cell sampling program through mathematical modelling as well as finding new biomarkers. https://ki.se/en/labmed/research-group-joakim-dillner
Henrik Falconer henrik.falconer@ki.se Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH) "1. Clinical research in Gynecologic Oncology2. Epidemiological research gynecologic cancer"
Matti Lehtinen matti.lehtinen@ki.se Department of Laboratory Medicine (LabMed)
Miriam Mints miriam.mints@ki.se Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH)
Maria Shoshan mimmi.shoshan@ki.se Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat)
Pär Sparen par.sparen@ki.se Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB)