Skip to main content


Departments, Head of departments and administrations

Karolinska Institutet has 22 departments and Comparative Medicine, Unit for Toxicological Sciences, Södertälje, University Library and University Administration.

Central Administration

Karolinska Institutet's students and researchers are supported by administrative functions at departments and central administration.

University Library

Karolinska Institutet University Library is a public library, open for everyone. The library has branches in both Campus Solna and Campus Huddinge.

Comparative Medicine

Comparative Medicine deals with all aspects of activities related to animal experimentation in research at Karolinska Institutet.


A centre at Karolinska Institutet is a focused concentration in a certain research or educational area which is flexible in its organisation and limited in time. The centres aim to create a dynamic collaboration. A common characteristic is that centres consist of research teams sharing equipment and premises.

Organisation chart

Organisation chart KI