Recently appointed professors

Professors, Adjunct Professors and Visiting Professors appointed since August 2021, and who will have their positions confirmed in an inauguration ceremoni in the autumn of 2022.


Kristina Haugaa has been appointed Professor of Cardiology focusing on Arrhythmology at the Department of Medicine, Huddinge from 11 October 2021. 

Lars E. Eriksson has been appointed Professor of Nursing at the Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society from 1 October 2021.

Johan Hartman has been appointed Professor of Tumour Pathology at the Department of Oncology-Pathology from 1 September 2021.

Rune Brautaset has been appointed Professor of Optometry at the Department of Clinical Neuroscience from 1 September 2021.

Annsofi Johannsen has been appointed Professor of Oral Health and Disease at the Department of Dental Medicine from 1 August 2021.

Adjunct Professors

Marianne Arner has been appointed Adjunct Professor of Hand Surgery at the Department of Clinical Science and Education, Södersjukhuset from 1 October 2021. 

Visiting Professors

Foreign Adjunct Professors

Inauguration Ceremony in Aula Medica

In autumn every year, Karolinska Institutet arranges an Inauguration Ceremony where new professors at KI are presented and academic prizes are delivered. Next Inauguration Ceremony will be held in October 2022.

Practical details about the ceremony

About the Inauguration Ceremony of 2021