KIPRIME - Karolinska Institutet Prize for Research in Medical Education

This major international Prize is awarded for outstanding research in medical education every second year. The purpose is to recognise and stimulate high-quality research in the field, and to promote long-term improvements in educational practice. 'Medical education' includes all education and training for any health science profession.

Åsa Edsander-Nord. Photo: Erik Cronberg.

Why study medical education?

Medical education is an important undertaking because we all become patients one day. The quality of healthcare depends on competence of the healthcare professionals and the quality of the their education.

Medical practice is continuously assessed and improved by research. Similarly, medical education must be research-based, testing innovations and current practices.

KIPRIME is financed by the Gunnar Höglund and Anna-Stina Malmborg Foundation.

Why a prize?

Numerous prizes are given for research excellence in many fields of medicine and health care. These prizes call attention to important progress in our knowledge and honour scientists who have made this progress possible. In spite of the crucial importance of medical education for the skills of the health professionals, and the considerable costs of this education in terms of time and money, this field is largely unexplored.

The KI Prize strives to highlight medical education as an important area of research, and to recognise those who contribute to better learning by sharing their findings with the medical community.

Research subject

Funding and selection of a winner

  • KIPRIME is financed by the Gunnar Höglund and Anna-Stina Malmborg Foundation (established 2001)
  • Stipulations in the Foundation’s statutes were formulated jointly by KI and the founders
  • Foundation undertakes to fund the awarded prize sum - currently € 75.000
  • Prize winner is selected by KI and formally approved by the Foundation
  • Founders are MDs/PhDs and have been active within KI for many years
Nominera kandidat pris

Nominate your colleagues

You can nominate your colleagues who by their distinguished research have made important contributions to progress in medical education.

Read the Guidelines for nomination or contact Anna Kiessling (the scientific secretary of the KI Prize Committee) for further instructions. 

Prize winner 2022 - Prof. Kevin Eva

"I consider my work as spanning the lifespan of the health professional, ranging from issues of student selection through to maintenance of competence for ageing practitioners"

Prof. Kevin Eva

Professor Kevin Eva sitter bakom en trave med böcker.
Professor Kevin Eva. Photo: The University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine.

Facts about Kevin Eva

  • Professor at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver
  • Director of Educational Research and Scholarship at the Department of Medicine
  • Associate Director of the Centre for Health Education Scholarship, both at the University of British Columbia
  • Editor-in-Chief of a leading research journal in medical education
  • Awarded the KI Prize for greatly advancing health professions education research in many key areas, influencing an entire generation of educators and researchers

Prize seminar 2022: Honouring the sacred gift - How understanding diagnostic reasoning can improve assessment practice.

"Professor Eva’s research is diverse. It has impacted medical school admissions by introducing multiple mini interviews as a rigorous process with which to select trainees based on their interpersonal skills. His research has also advanced the understanding of clinical reasoning, guided improvements in experts’ ratings of student performance, and fundamentally altered how the field thinks about self-assessment, feedback and their role in performance improvement"

The KI Prize Committee

Previous prize winners

2020 - Dr. Glenn Regehr

2018 - Prof. Lorelei Lingard

2016 - Prof. Brian D. Hodges

2014 - Prof. John Norcini

2012 - Prof. Cees van der Vleuten

2010 - Prof. Richard Reznick and Prof. David Irby

2008 - Prof. Geoffrey R. Norman

2006 - Prof. Ronald M. Harden

2004 - Prof. Henk G. Schmidt

KI Prize Committee


Sari Ponzer

Professor/senior physician, Department of Clinical Science and Education, Södersjukhuset (KI SÖS)

Scientific Secretary

Anna Kiessling

Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences, Danderyd Hospital (KI DS)

Members of the committee

  • Dr. Madalena Patricio, University of Lisbon
  • Prof. Brian Hodges, University of Toronto
  • Dr. Charlotte Silén, Karolinska Institutet
  • Prof. Annika Östman Wernerson, Karolinska Institutet
  • Prof. Bjørn Stensaker, University of Oslo
  • Prof. Gudrun Edgren, University of Lund
  • Prof. em. Ed Peile, University of Warwick