Work environment and Health in Biomedicum

Working together in a building like Biomedicum requires that everyone follows and respects common work environment rules and guidelines.

The work environment group will handle health and safety issues in a systematic way and the aim is to promote a healthy work environment and preventing illness.

The group consists of representatives from the five departments in Biomedicum and coming from various fields;  employees, safety officers, administrative personnel, students and other.

We will initially focus on harmonizing the work environment in the new building,  but our role is also:

  • to inform about and educate in work environment
  • to initiate and implement annual safety inspections
  • to handle and follow up incidents and accidents related to the physical work environment
  • to follow up issues related to the psychosocial work environment in close contact with HR
  • to initiate improvements in laboratory safety for example waste handling
  • to participate in the planning of new (or changes in) premises and work flows (methods and processes)

Systematic work environment is about how to recognize and take into account all the circumstances of the work environment that may affect employees' health and safety in the daily work. 

The systematic work flow for questions regarding work environment is like following:

Investigate -> Risk assess -> Action plan -> Follow up

systematic work flow illustration

Procedures in case of emergency

Read more about procedures in case of emergency in Biomedicum and at KI.

Laboratory safety

Read more about Laboratory safety in Biomedicum.

Safety delagates

Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB)

Biomedical scientist

Belinda Pannagel

E-mail: Belinda.Pannagel@ki.se

Laboratory engineer

Helena Lönnqvist

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 872 59
Organizational unit: Frisén
E-mail: Helena.Lonnqvist@ki.se

Department of Physiology and Pharmacology (FYFA)

Laboratory manager

Katrin Ingermo

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 822 62
Organizational unit: Krook Anna group - Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Katrin.Ingermo@ki.se

Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB)

Laboratory engineer

Jana Sontheimer

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 822 73
Organizational unit: Patrik Ernfors group
E-mail: jana.sontheimer@ki.se

Laboratory coordinator

Åse Mattsson

Organizational unit: Arne Holmgren group
E-mail: ase.mattsson@ki.se

Biomedical scientist

Carina Palmberg

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 878 40
Organizational unit: Roman Zubarev's group
E-mail: Carina.Palmberg@ki.se

Laboratory engineer

Susanne Rothstein

Organizational unit: Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB), C2
E-mail: Susanne.Rothstein@ki.se

Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology (MTC)

Information administrator

John Sennett

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 862 48
Organizational unit: Communication
E-mail: John.Sennett@ki.se

Derpartment of Neuroscience (NEURO)

Senior lab manager

Mikael Corell

Organizational unit: Research group Carlén
E-mail: mikael.corell@ki.se

Laboratory coordinator

Katrin Wellfelt

Organizational unit: Research Group Olson
E-mail: katrin.wellfelt@ki.se

Facility Management in Biomedicum

Technical assistant

Elisabeth Valenzuela

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 863 53
Organizational unit: Service
E-mail: Elizabeth.Valenzuela@ki.se

Links