Skip to main content

Theme Center for Inflammatory Diseases

Chronic inflammatory conditions, including rheumatic, neuroinflammatory, dermatological, intestinal and pulmonal diseases, are common chronic and severe diseases. However, there are great potentials to fundamentally change therapy and initiate prevention.

Swedish, and KI research has unique opportunities to contribute to such change from combining genetic epidemiology based on unique registers, with basic immunology, and with clinical immunology, clinical trials and clinical implementation.

The aims are:

  • To obtain a new understanding of mechanisms that cause major inflammatory diseases that are today defined by clinical criteria rather than from their different molecular origins.
  • To use this understanding to develop new means of prevention and therapy that can interfere with disease-inducing reactions before the inflammation has caused destruction and permanent disability.
  • To establish a new infrastructure for translational research concerning inflammatory diseases, which goes beyond existing programs at KI, by combining knowledge and international collaborations that are today utilized mainly in separate disease-specific networks. This new structure will enable young scientists to acquire broad skills in translational research as well as access to the best international networks in our field.



Professor, senior

Lars Klareskog

Enhet: Forskargrupp L Klareskog



Rikard Holmdahl

Telefon: 08-524 846 07
Enhet: Holmdahl

Group leaders

Lars Alfredsson, Institute of Environmental Medicine

Anders Ekbom, Department of Medicine, Solna

Johan Grunewald, Department of Medicine, Solna

Jesper Z Haeggström, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics

Marianne van Hage, Department of Medicine, Solna

Lennart Hammarström, Department of Laboratory Medicine

Göran K Hansson, Department of Medicine, Solna

Jan Hillert, Department of Clinical Neuroscience

Ingrid Lundberg, Department of Medicine, Solna

Tomas Olsson, Department of Medicine, Solna

Sven Pettersson, Department of Microbiology, Tumor and Cell Biology

Mona Ståhle, Department of Medicine, Solna

Marie Wahren-Herlenius, Department of Medicine, Solna