Lectures and seminars

KI celebrating the ERC 10 year anniversary

Denna sida på svenska
2017-04-2409:00 to 17:00 Andreas Vesalius lecture hall (Bertil), Berzelius väg 9Campus Solna

This year, the 10th anniversary of the European Research Council is celebrated all over Europe – and on the 24th of April Karolinska Institutet will join the festivities.

In 2007, the European Research Council (ERC) was established by the European Commission to encourage excellent frontier research in Europe through competitive funding, supporting top researchers across all fields and of any nationality. Since then, the ERC has funded almost 7,000 researchers, among them many leading scientists at Karolinska Institutet (KI). 

List of all ERC grantees at KI since 2007

The KI celebration event in short

  • During one day we will listen to several of our most prominent ERC funded PIs, and reflect on the past decade and future in European science.
  • The event will be opened by acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Karin Dahlman-Wright, and closed by the Dean of Research, Professor Anders Gustafsson.
  • The keynote speaker will be Professor Jonas Frisén from the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology.
  • We will serve lunch-sandwiches and coffee, and there will be time to mingle and meet the ERC grantees – to ask for advice and discuss research projects.


This event is mainly directed towards researchers at KI – at all  career stages, from doctoral student to senior professor. However, administrative staff at KI, researchers from other institutions, and science journalists are welcome too. Registration is required and binding.

Registration form here


9:00   Welcome address from Karin Dahlman-Wright

Session 1 

Chair: András Simon (ERC-2011-StG)

9:10-9:30  The beginning of ERC at KI

ERC-2007-StG: Camilla Sjögren – Genomic stability; Chromosome segregation and repair

9:30-10:30 Plenary lecture

ERC-2010-AdG, and ERC-2015-AdG: Jonas Frisen – Exploration and promotion of neurogenesis in the adult brain

10:30-11:00  Coffee break

Session 2 

Chair: Gilad Silberberg (ERC-2011-StG)


ERC-2016-StG: Simon Elsässer – Chromatin dynamics resolved by rapid protein labeling and bioorthogonal capture

ERC-2016-StG: Anna Wredenberg – Mitochondrial methylation and its role in health and disease

ERC-2016-CoG: Björn Högberg – Cellular Position Tracking Using DNA Origami Barcodes

ERC-2016-AdG: Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg – Mimicking liver disease and regeneration in vitro for drug development and liver transplantation

ERC-2016-AdG: Kenneth Chien – A Functional Mature In vivo Human Ventricular Muscle Patch for Cardiomyopathy

12:15-13:15  Lunch sandwiches (included)

Session 3

Chair: Yihai Cao (ERC-2009-AdG)


ERC-2015-StG: Petter Brodin, Shaping of the human immune system by primal environmental exposures in the newborn child

ERC-2015-CoG: Gonçalo Castelo-Branco, Reversing the epigenetic state of oligodendrocyte precursors cells in multiple sclerosis

ERC-2015-CoG: Weimin Ye, Understanding microbe-induced stomach cancer; the key to a workable strategy for worldwide prevention

ERC-2015-AdG: Klas Wiman, Restoration of tumor suppressor function by induction of translational read-through of premature termination codons - a strategy for improved cancer therapy

14:15-14:45 Round table discussion: Why apply for ERC grants? Panelists from ERC-2010-StG: Kirsty Spalding, Christian Broberger, Luca Jovine and Sten Linnarsson. Moderator: Gergana Angelova Hamberg, Primary NCP for the ERC.

14:45-15:00  ERC-2009-AdG/ERC-2012-PoC: Lars Klareskog – PreventRA

15:00-15:30 Coffee break 

Session 4

Chair: Yenan Bryceson (ERC-2012-StG)


ERC-2014-CoG: Rickard Sandberg – Revealing allele-level regulation and dynamics using single-cell gene expression analyses

ERC-2014-CoG: Per Svenningsson – Prosaposin and GPR37 in synucleinopathies

ERC-2013-CoG: Ana Teixeira – Mechanotransduction in cell-to-cell communication

ERC-2013-CoG: Marie Carlén – The role of parvalbumin in interneurons in cognition and behaviour

ERC-2012-StG: Christian Göritz – The role of pericytes in central nervous system scarring and fibrosis

16:45-17:00  Closing remarks: Anders Gustafsson

17:00-18:00 Mingle and refreshments


Contact person: Laura Plant