Skip to main content

Jan Johansson group

Protein biochemistry for medical applications

Research focus

Three major research lines are pursued; one concerns the BRICHOS domain for treatment of protein aggregation diseases, another line concerns development of synthetic surfactant for treatment of lung diseases and the third line focuses on molecular biology of spider silk proteins. Current activities include elucidation of the BRICHOS mechanism of action using a combination of structural biology, fibrillation kinetics, structure-function analyses, BRICHOS treatment of Alzheimer knock-in mouse models, a clinical trial of the first synthetic surfactant based on designed analogues of surfactant proteins SP-B and SP-C, studies of new surfactant protein analogues, and structure-function analyses of recombinant spider silk proteins.

Group members

Professor

Janne Johansson

Enhet: Johansson
E-post: janne.johansson@ki.se

Postdoc

Gefei Chen

Enhet: Johansson
E-post: gefei.chen@ki.se

Doktorand

Axel Leppert

Enhet: Johansson
E-post: axel.leppert@ki.se

Forskarassistent

Nina Kronqvist

Enhet: Johansson
E-post: nina.kronqvist@ki.se

Doktorand

Médoune Sarr

Enhet: Sektionen för neurogeriatrik
E-post: medoune.sarr@ki.se

Forskarstuderande

Lorena Galán Acosta

Enhet: Sektionen för neurogeriatrik
E-post: lorena.galan.acosta@ki.se

Anknuten

Simone Tambaro

Enhet: Nilsson
E-post: simone.tambaro@ki.se

Postdoc

Shaffi Manchanda

Enhet: Johansson
E-post: shaffi.manchanda@ki.se

Doktorand

Oihana Basabe Burgos

Enhet: Johansson
E-post: oihana.basabe.burgos@ki.se

Selected publications

24510122

25686087

27009901

28534479

29234026

28360830

29507232

29604175

Dissertations

Lisa Dolfe, 2016. BRICHOS interactions with amyloid proteins and implications for Alzheimer disease.

Erik Hermansson Wik, 2015. Studies of amyloid toxicity in drosophila models and effects of the BRICHOS domain.

Address

Department of Neurobiology, Care Sciences and Society Neurobiologi, vårdvetenskap och samhälle (NVS)
Division of Neurogeriatrics
Neo
Blickagången 16
141 52 HUDDINGE