Skip to main content

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Richard L. Ehman

Professor of Radiology
Blanche R. & Richard J. Erlanger Professor of Medical Research

Richard L. Ehman, M.D., is Professor of Radiology at the Mayo Clinic and an Emeritus member of the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees. His research program is focused on developing new imaging technologies. He holds more than 40 patents and many of these inventions are widely used in medical care. He has served as chair of the Radiology and Nuclear Medicine Study Section of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), as a member of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering of the NIH, and as a member of the Council of Councils of the NIH. Dr. Ehman was awarded the Gold Medal of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine in 1995 for his research contributions and the Outstanding Researcher Award of the Radiological Society of North America in 2006. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science in 2010. Dr. Ehman has served as president of many professional organizations, including the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine in 2002-03, the Academy of Radiology Research in 2012-14, and the Society for Body Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance in 2013-14. He currently serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) and will be president of the RSNA in 2017.

Dr. Michael Snyder

Stanford Ascherman Professor and Chair of Genetics and the Director of the Center of Genomics and Personalized Medicine.

Dr. Snyder received his Ph.D. training at the California Institute of Technology and carried out postdoctoral training at Stanford University. He is a leader in the field of functional genomics and proteomics, and one of the major participants of the ENCODE project. His laboratory study was the first to perform a large-scale functional genomics project in any organism, and has developed many technologies in genomics and proteomics. These including the development of proteome chips, high resolution tiling arrays for the entire human genome, methods for global mapping of transcription factor binding sites (ChIP-chip now replaced by ChIP-seq), paired end sequencing for mapping of structural variation in eukaryotes, de novo genome sequencing of genomes using high throughput technologies and RNA-Seq. These technologies have been used for characterizing genomes, proteomes and regulatory networks. Seminal findings from the Snyder laboratory include the discovery that much more of the human genome is transcribed and contains regulatory information than was previously appreciated, and a high diversity of transcription factor binding occurs both between and within species. He has also combined different state-of–the-art “omics” technologies to perform the first longitudinal detailed integrative personal omics profile (iPOP) of person and used this to assess disease risk and monitor disease states for personalized medicine. He is a cofounder of several biotechnology companies, including Protometrix (now part of Life Tehcnologies), Affomix (now part of Illumina), Excelix, and Personalis, and he presently serves on the board of a number of companies.

Phillip B. Lombardo

Phillip B. Lombardo is an Administrator in Research Administrative Services and the Office of Research Information Services at Mayo Clinic. He has developed and implemented enterprise information systems at Mayo Clinic in a variety of administrative areas. Mr. Lombardo established the Mayo Clinic Data Governance program focusing on supporting data standards for the Enterprise Data Trust, terminology management services and metadata services. He currently establishes digital solutions across the Mayo Clinic research enterprise.

Dr. Staffan Holmin

Staffan Holmin was born in Stockholm 1968. He got his PhD at Karolinska Institutet in 1997 and was certified physician in Sweden in 1999. He is a certified board specialist in Neurosurgery and Neuroradiology and was appointed Associate Professor at Karolinska Institutet in 2007. In 2006 he did a post-doc and fellowship training with Professor Pierre Lasjaunias, at the Hospital Bicêtre, Paris. Except for this period he has been an active physician and researcher at Karolinska University hospital since 1999. In 2013 he got the position as full professor in clinical neuroimaging, granted by Torsten and Ragnar Söderberg foundation, combined with his position as consultant in neurointervention at the Karolinska University Hospital. He is since 2007 appointed Vice Chairman of the Department of Neuroradiology. In his role as a research group leader at the Department of Clinical Neuroscience he is the principal investigator for several clinical and experimental research projects in the fields of stroke and development of new endovascular techniques. In the planning of the New Karolinska Hospital he is responsible for the imaging research facilities and is also the Karolinska Institute representative for the Neuroradiology discipline.