StratCan supported research

StratCan invests in human capital by research grants for young researchers and innovative research. All grants are sought in open competition and awarded through selection by external review.

Blue Sky Research Grants

2014 Katja Petzold

Assistant professor

Katja Petzold

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 876 47
Organizational unit: Katja Petzold Group
E-mail: katja.petzold@ki.se

Katja Petzold is active at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics and the project is entitled "How microRNA selects its targets".

2013 Bertrand Joseph, Stephen Strom

Professor

Bertrand Joseph

Organizational unit: Toxicology
E-mail: Bertrand.Joseph@ki.se

Bertrand Joseph is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "Cellular Reprogramming in Glioma Tumors."

Professor/clinical chemist

Stephen Strom

Organizational unit: Division of Pathology
E-mail: stephen.strom@ki.se

Stephen Strom is active at the Department of Laboratory Medicine and the project is entitled "Humanized Models of Liver Cancer".

2012 Jonas Fuxe

Senior researcher

Jonas Fuxe

Organizational unit: Jonas Fuxe group
E-mail: jonas.fuxe@ki.se

Jonas Fuxe is active at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics and the project is entitled "Long-distance impact of inflammation on tumor cell invasion and metastasis."'

Investigator-Initiated Clinical Trial

2014 Petter Höglund, Theodoros Foukakis

Professor

Petter Höglund

Phone: +46-(0)8-585 801 74
Organizational unit: Unit for Hematology
E-mail: Petter.Hoglund@ki.se

Petter Höglund is active at the Department of Medicine, Huddinge and the project is entitled "Acid stripping of platelet HLA before transfusion: A first clinical trial to test efficiency and safety in haematological cancer patients“.

Associated

Theodoros Foukakis

Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: Theodoros.Foukakis@ki.se

Theodoros Foukakis is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "CLinical IMpact of Breast Cancer Biomarker HETerogeneity assessed by Single-Cell In Situ Assays - CLIMBBHET"

2012 Jeanette Lundin & Anders Österborg

Jeanette Lundin and Anders Österborg are both at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "Phase I (II) study of the combination of lenalidomide and alemtuzumab in patients with chemotherapy refractory chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)." 

Associated

Jeanette Lundin

Organizational unit: Research Group Mellstedt, Håkan
E-mail: Jeanette.Lundin@ki.se

Associated

Anders Österborg

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 733 85
Organizational unit: Research Group Mellstedt, Håkan
E-mail: Anders.Osterborg@ki.se

Senior Research Fellow Positions

2014 Johan Holmberg, Ola Larsson

Senior researcher

Johan Holmberg

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 871 08
Organizational unit: Holmberg
E-mail: Johan.Holmberg@ki.se

Johan Holmberg is active at the Department of Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB) and his research proposal is entitled “The role of the chromatin remodeler CHD5 for tumor suppression in the nervous system”.

Senior researcher

Ola Larsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 812 28
Organizational unit: Research Group Larsson Ola
E-mail: Ola.Larsson@ki.se

Ola Larsson is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology (Onk-Pat) and his research proposal is entitled “Exploring links between mRNA-metabolism and -translation in breast cancer”.

Research Associate Positions

2013 Lotta Hansson, Roland Nilsson

Associated

Lotta Hansson

Organizational unit: Research Group Mellstedt, Håkan
E-mail: lotta.hansson@ki.se

Lotta Hansson was granted a Research Associate Position in Translational Cancer Research. She is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "Development of targeted therapy for chronic lymphocytic leukemia."

Assistant professor

Roland Nilsson

Organizational unit: Group R Nilsson
E-mail: roland.nilsson@ki.se

Roland Nilsson was granted a Research Associate Position in Basic Cancer Research. He is active at the Department of Medicine, Solna and the project is entitled "Charting cancer cell metabolism using next-generation metabolomics methods"

2011 Marianne Farnebo, Kristian Pietras

Senior forskare

Marianne Farnebo

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 703 67
Organizational unit: Research Group Farnebo, Marianne
E-mail: Marianne.Farnebo@ki.se

Marianne Farnebo is active at the Department of Oncology-Pathology and the project is entitled "WRAP53 as a new prognostic marker and target for cancer therapy."

Kristian Pietras, then at the Department of Medical Biosciences and Biophysics at KI, received funding for the project is entitled "Exploring targeting opportunities within the pro-angiogenic tumor stroma." Kristian has relocated to Lund University.

KI-MDACC Collaborative Grants

2014 Joanna Zawacka-Pankau, Nicola Crosetto

Joanna Zawacka-Pankau from the department of Microbiology, Tumour and Cell biology (MTC) for the project "Drug repositioning for pharmacological manipulation of p53 family members in p53 mutant and deficient lung tumors". Project partners: Elsa Flores (MDACC) and Kristian Berg (Oslo Radium Hospital).

Assistant professor

Nicola Crosetto

Organizational unit: Nicola Crosetto's group
E-mail: nicola.crosetto@ki.se

Nicola Crosetto from the department of Medical Biophysics and Biochemistry (MBB) for the project "Integrating SINgle-CEll Technologies to Advance Personalized ONCology – SINCELONC". Project partner: Nicholas Navin (MDACC).

2013 Katarina Le Blanc, Jonas Bergh, Janne Lehtiö

Professor/specialist physician

Katarina Le Blanc

Organizational unit: Division of Clinical Immunology
E-mail: Katarina.Leblanc@ki.se

Senior researcher

Evren Alici

Phone: +46-(0)8-585 836 46
Organizational unit: Unit for Hematology
E-mail: Evren.Alici@ki.se

Katarina Le Blanc & Evren Alici from the Department of Laboratory Medicine for the project "Curative cell-based therapies for chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)". Project partners: Katy Rezvani (MDACC), Ten Feizi (Imperial College, London).

Professor/senior physician

Jonas Bergh

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 743 10
Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: Jonas.Bergh@ki.se

Jonas Bergh & Hanjing Xie from the Department of Oncology-Pathology for the project "Development Of A Predictive Genomic Diagnostic Test For Survival Benefit From Everolimus (mTOR Inhibitor) Combined With Endocrine Therapy For Metastatic HR+/HER2- Breast Cancer". Project partner: W. Fraser Symmans (MDACC).

Professor

Janne Lehtiö

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 814 16
Organizational unit: Research Group Lehtiö, Janne
E-mail: Janne.Lehtio@ki.se

Janne Lehtiö from the Department of Oncology-Pathology for the project "Proteomic biomarkers facilitating personalized cancer medicine". Project partners: Gordon Mills (MDACC), Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale (Oslo University Hospital)

KI-DKFZ Joint Project Grants

2012 Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren, Guillem Genove

Array

Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren

Phone: +46-(0)8-585 806 02
E-mail: Hans-Gustaf.Ljunggren@ki.se

Hans-Gustaf Ljunggren (Department of Medicine, Huddinge, KI) and Adelheid Cerwenka (DKFZ) for the project "Role of Natural Killer (NK) cells in hepatocellular cancer (HCC) pathogenesis."

Senior lab manager

Guillem Genové

Organizational unit: Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH), H7
E-mail: Guillem.Genove@ki.se

Guillem Genove (Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, KI) and Hellmut Augustin (DKFZ) for the project "Molecular identification and characterization of pericyte signatures during health and disease."

MD/PhD grants 2011

2011 Adam Andreasson, Tobias Nordström

Research intern

Adam Stenman

E-mail: Adam.Stenman@ki.se

Adam Andreasson, Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery: "Genetic and molecular aspects on pheochromocytoma malignancy."

Tobias Nordström, Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics: "Predicting prostate cancer - on the use of biomarkers and risk modelling in prostate cancer."

Grants for Clinicians 2011

2011 Olof Akre and Martin Jädersten

Adjunct professor

Olof Akre

Organizational unit: Urology
E-mail: Olof.Akre@ki.se

Olof Akre, Department of Medicine, Solna: "Prognostic factors in prostate cancer."

Associated

Martin Jädersten

Organizational unit: Unit for Hematology
E-mail: Martin.Jadersten@ki.se

Martin Jädersten, Department of Medicine, Huddinge: "Molecular pathogenesis of myelodysplastic syndromes."