Translational Science Centre

The Karolinska Institutet - AstraZeneca Joint Research Program in Translational Science was established in 2012 to establish collaborative research programs aimed at the identification and/or validation of biomarkers of clinical utility.

The Centre hosts eleven research programs, initiated in 2013, in a range of diseases and indications, including oncology, neuroscience, cardiovascular, respiratory, inflammation and toxicology. Many of the research programs are collaborations between clinical research and biobanks, basic science, and technology platforms at the Science for Life Laboratory.

PI and Projects

Senior researcher

Per-Johan Jakobsson

Phone: +46-(0)70-483 80 18
Organizational unit: Group P-J Jakobsson
E-mail: Per-Johan.Jakobsson@ki.se

Project: Identification of sub-phenotypes and biomarkers in systemic autoimmune diseases.

Professor

Sven-Erik Dahlen

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 872 03
Organizational unit: Experimental asthma and allergy research
E-mail: Sven-Erik.Dahlen@ki.se

Project: New biomarker patterns for phenotyping of asthma, allergies and COPD.

Associated

Mauro D'Amato

Organizational unit: Group J Askling
E-mail: Mauro.Damato@ki.se

Project: Post-genomic applications in IBD: exploitation of genetic information toward improved diagnosis and therapy.

Senior researcher

Johan Björkegren

Organizational unit: Johan Björkegrens group
E-mail: Johan.Bjorkegren@ki.se

Project: DNA-on/DNA-off-towards biomarkers predicting molecular disease states driving coronary artery disease in subgroups of patients.

Project: Development of assays to quantify HMGB1 isoform levels as biomarkers for mode of cell death and clinical prognosis in drug-induced liver injury (DILI).

Professor/senior physician

Henrik Grönberg

E-mail: Henrik.Gronberg@ki.se

Project: Circulating tumor DNA as a personalized biomarker for treatment prediction and disease monitoring in prostate and breast cancer.

Professor/senior physician

Jonas Bergh

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 743 10
Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: Jonas.Bergh@ki.se

Project: Search and identification of therapy predictive markers in primary and metastatic breast cancer with focus on TORC1/2 inhibition and AZD8931 with long-term goals of individual prognostication and tailored therapy selections.

Senior researcher

Janne Lehtiö

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 814 16
Organizational unit: Research Group Lehtiö, Janne
E-mail: Janne.Lehtio@ki.se

Project: Immediate adaptation analysis for prediction of efficient combination therapy with Gefitinib

Professor

Roman Zubarev

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 875 94
Organizational unit: Roman Zubarev's group
E-mail: Roman.Zubarev@ki.se

Professor, senior

Agneta Nordberg

Organizational unit: Division of Translational Alzheimer Neurobiology
E-mail: Agneta.K.Nordberg@ki.se

Professor/senior physician

Dag Aarsland

Organizational unit: Division of Neurogeriatrics
E-mail: dag.aarsland@ki.se

Senior researcher

Craig Wheelock

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 876 30
Organizational unit: Craig Wheelock's group
E-mail: Craig.Wheelock@ki.se

Project: Discovery of diagnostic and prognostic biomarkers of preclinical Alzheimer´s disease by combining advanced proteomics, metabolomics and lipidomics analyses of blood plasma and cerebrospinal fluid.

Senior researcher (appointed by VR)

Sophie Erhardt

Organizational unit: Erhardt Sophie group - Neuropsychoimmunology
E-mail: Sophie.Erhardt@ki.se

Project: The pursuit of immune biomarkers in schizophrenia - tracking down pathophysiological mechanisms.

Professor/specialist physician

Per Svenningsson

Organizational unit: Neuro Svenningsson
E-mail: Per.Svenningsson@ki.se

Project: Biomarkers of early Parkinson´s disease.

Current publications

Prediction of clinically relevant safety signals of nephrotoxicity through plasma metabolite profiling.
Mattes W, Kamp H, Fabian E, Herold M, Krennrich G, Looser R, et al
Biomed Res Int 2013 ;2013():202497