BRECT - Breast Cancer Theme Center

Denna sida på svenska

The breast cancer theme center aims to increase our understanding of critical steps in breast cancer development and therapy. The research span from basic studies using cell lines, animal models and patient biopsies, to prospective clinical studies and clinical trials, with the ultimate goal to improve breast cancer therapy and disease outcome.

Specifically, the center aims at obtaining new mechanistic insight into the regulation of breast cancer progression in preclinical breast cancer models and in patients. Focus is on key signaling pathways in breast cancer cells, such as Hedgehog, Notch and PAK4, signalling in tumour stromal cells, as well as signalling between the cancer cell and stromal compartments.

The translational part of our program will explore markers and mechanisms of breast cancer development, progression and invasion in animal models, and validate these findings in human breast cancer biopsies. The processes involved in loco-regional breast cancer relapse and systemic metastatic establishment, including the analysis of circulating tumour cells, is investigated in animal models, as well as from retrospective and prospectively collected biopsies from breast cancer patients.

The center focus on different facets of tumour cell migration, tumour stroma including angiogenesis, and factors involved in tumour progression, and analyze their importance for prognostication and therapy prediction. Targeted and tailored therapy applications will be prospectively investigated based on our identification of putative drug targets.

Group descriptions and collaborative publications

BRECT group descriptions.pdf

BRECT collaborative publications 2010-2015.pdf

Management and contacts

Professor Jonas Bergh (Director)
E-mail: jonas.bergh@ki.se

Professor Staffan Strömblad (Vice Director)
E-mail: staffan.stromblad@ki.se

Assistant Professor Nick Tobin (Scientific Manager)
E-mail: nick.tobin@ki.se

Helen Eriksson (Administrator)
E-mail: helen.eriksson@ki.se

Group leaders

Professor/senior physician

Jonas Bergh

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 743 10
Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: Jonas.Bergh@ki.se

Jonas Bergh publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor/senior physician

Jan Frisell

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 709 15
Organizational unit: Breast surgery
E-mail: Jan.Frisell@ki.se

Jan Frisell publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Senior lab manager

Guillem Genové

Organizational unit: Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH), H7
E-mail: Guillem.Genove@ki.se

Guillem Genove publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor/senior physician

Per Hall

Organizational unit: Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB), C8
E-mail: Per.Hall@ki.se

Per Hall publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Project manager

Svetlana Bajalica Lagercrantz

Organizational unit: Department of Oncology-Pathology (OnkPat), K7
E-mail: Svetlana.Lagercrantz@ki.se

Svetlana Lagercrantz publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Urban Lendahl

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 873 23
Organizational unit: Lendahl
E-mail: Urban.Lendahl@ki.se

Urban Lendahl publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Sten Linnarsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 875 77
Organizational unit: Sten Linnarssons group
E-mail: Sten.Linnarsson@ki.se

Sten Linnarsson publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Staffan Strömblad

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 811 22
Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: Staffan.Stromblad@ki.se

Staffan Strömblad publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor, senior

Rune Toftgård

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 810 53
Organizational unit: Department of Biosciences and Nutrition (BioNut), H2
E-mail: Rune.Toftgard@ki.se

Rune Toftgård publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Arne Östman

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 702 32
Organizational unit: Research Group Östman, Arne
E-mail: Arne.Ostman@ki.se

Arne Östman publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Professor

Kamila Czene

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 861 44
Organizational unit: Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB), C8
E-mail: Kamila.Czene@ki.se

Kamila Czene publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Associate PIs

Erik Fredlund publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Senior forskare

Marianne Farnebo

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 703 67
Organizational unit: Research Group Farnebo, Marianne
E-mail: Marianne.Farnebo@ki.se

Marianne Farnebo publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Senior researcher

Charlotte Rolny

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 732 80
Organizational unit: Research Group Rolny, Charlotte
E-mail: charlotte.rolny@ki.se

Charlotte Rolny publications 2010-2015 BRECT.pdf

Junior Faculty

Associated

Theodoros Foukakis

Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: Theodoros.Foukakis@ki.se

Senior research fellow, clin.

Johan Hartman

Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: Johan.Hartman@ki.se

Associated

Irma Fredriksson

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 724 50
Organizational unit: Breast surgery
E-mail: Irma.Fredriksson@ki.se

Senior forskare

Marianne Farnebo

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 703 67
Organizational unit: Research Group Farnebo, Marianne
E-mail: Marianne.Farnebo@ki.se

Senior researcher

Charlotte Rolny

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 732 80
Organizational unit: Research Group Rolny, Charlotte
E-mail: charlotte.rolny@ki.se

Assistant professor

Nick Tobin

Organizational unit: Research Group Bergh, Jonas
E-mail: nick.tobin@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Guillem Genové

Organizational unit: Department of Medicine, Huddinge (MedH), H7
E-mail: Guillem.Genove@ki.se

Professor

Sten Linnarsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 875 77
Organizational unit: Sten Linnarssons group
E-mail: Sten.Linnarsson@ki.se

Breast cancerCentre