Neurogenetics

Denna sida på svenska

Our aim is to identify genetic factors that predispose to the development of neuropsychiatric and metabolic disorders. 

Research group leaders:

Professor

Martin Schalling

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 744 81
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Martin.Schalling@ki.se

Senior researcher

Catharina Lavebratt

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 765 24
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Catharina.Lavebratt@ki.se

Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery
Karolinska Institutet
Karolinska University Hospital, Solna, L8:00
SE-171 76 Stockholm
The Neurogenetics Unit has laboratories at the Centre for Molecular Medicine, (CMM). Read more about the group at cmm.ki.se.

Research area

We focus on understanding how genes and environment contribute to development and treatment of psychiatric disorders such as depression, bipolar disease, schizophrenia and anorexia. We also focus on the anorectic state that is sometimes observed in end state renal disease, often in combination with cardiovascular complications and inflammation. Several projects are available in this area. Projects typically involve large clinical cohorts that are studied with state of the art molecular methodology, often relating genetic data to disease as well as analyzing how the environment including early experiences may interact with the genetic makeup. Areas of interest that are particularly new and exciting include epigenetic studies as well as inflammation as a factor in psychiatric illness.

Members of the group

Research engineer

Malin Alvehus

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 726 63
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: malin.alvehus@ki.se

Associated

Richard Atkinson

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Richard.Atkinson@ki.se

Associated

Lena Backlund

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics

Research engineer

Anna-Lee Cöster Jansén

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 899 38
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Anna-Lee.Jansen@ki.se

Associated

Dan Edwall

Phone: +46-(0)8-586 107 80
Organizational unit: Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK), K1
E-mail: Dan.Edwall@ki.se

Postdoc

Paschalis Efstathopoulos

Organizational unit: Department of Molecular Medicine and Surgery (MMK), K1
E-mail: paschalis.efstathopoulos@ki.se

Senior lab manager

Annika Eriksson

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 726 63
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Annika.Eriksson@ki.se

Research engineer

Katarina Gell

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 726 63
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Katarina.Gell@ki.se

Senior researcher

Björn Johansson

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Bjorn.Johansson@ki.se

PhD student

Parvin Kumar

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: parvin.kumar@ki.se

Professor

Olle Ljungqvist

Phone: +46-(0)19-602 15 43
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Olle.Ljungqvist@ki.se

Professor

Fredrik Lonnqvist

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: fredrik.lonnqvist@ki.se

PhD student

Vincent Millischer

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: vincent.millischer@ki.se

Assistant professor

Ida Nilsson

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: ida.nilsson@ki.se

Associated

Marie Nyman

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics

Research assistant

Md Shafiqur Rahman

Organizational unit: Public Health Epidemiology
E-mail: md.rahman@ki.se

Sekreterare

Carina Schmidt

Phone: +46-(0)8-517 764 66
Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: carina.schmidt@ki.se

Professor

Homero Vallada

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: homero.vallada@ki.se

Senior researcher

Carlos Villaescusa

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: carlos.villaescusa@ki.se

Postdoc

Yabin Wei

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: yabin.wei@ki.se

PhD student

Liu Yang

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: liu.yang@ki.se

Senior Lecturer

Urban Ösby

Organizational unit: Neurogenetics
E-mail: Urban.Osby@ki.se

Core Facilities

GeneticsNeurogenetics