Integrative Physiology

Denna sida på svenska

Research group leader

Professor

Juleen Zierath

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 875 80
Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Juleen.Zierath@ki.se

Deputy Research group leader

Professor

Anna Krook

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 878 24
Organizational unit: Krook Anna group - Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Anna.Krook@ki.se

von Eulers Väg 4
Karolinska Institutet
SE-171 77 Stockholm

Research Projects

Our central hypothesis is that alterations in insulin signal transduction to glucose transport contribute to the profound impairment in whole body glucose homeostasis and Type 2 diabetes pathogenesis and that identification of the defects can lead to the development of new therapeutic strategies to prevent and cure this disease. Research activities are divided into two main objectives:

1) Development of target identification platforms using microarray, proteomics and bioinformatics to identify dysregulated genes in healthy and diabetic patients or genetically modified model systems.

a) Gene expression profiling is performed in healthy and Type 2 diabetic subjects and defined genetic models to create a fingerprint of dysregulated genes associated.

b) Bioinformatics and predictive pathway analysis is performed to identify mechanism for insulin action and resistance.

c) Proteomics is being developed to validate the target genes identified in the gene expression profile.

2) Functional genomics is used to assign a physiological role to the identified targets using cellular (in vivo siRNA) and whole-body (genetically modified mice) models. We are developing:

a) high-through-puts screen in human skeletal muscle cells to silence or overexpress candidate genes to establish the functional impact on metabolism.

b) medium-through-put screens (electroporation) to determine the consequence of gene silencing or overexpression on the whole-body metabolic phenotype at tissue (organ) level.

c) tissue-specific gene knockout or transgenic models to provide proof-of concept that the identified gene(s) and the pathway(s) they regulate play a causative or preventive role in the development of type 2 diabetes.

More information about the ongoing research at Integrative Physiology, FYFA

Members of the group

Senior researcher

Marie Björnholm

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 875 12
Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Marie.Bjornholm@ki.se

Senior researcher

Alexander Chibalin

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 875 12
Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Alexander.Chibalin@ki.se

Associated

Brendan Egan

Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Brendan.Egan@ki.se

Associated

Marc Gilbert

Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Marc.Gilbert@ki.se

Research engineer

Håkan Karlsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 869 80
Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Hakan.Karlsson.1@ki.se

PhD student

David Lassiter

Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: david.gray.lassiter@ki.se

Assistant professor

Julie Massart

Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: julie.massart@ki.se

Laboratory engineer

Torbjörn Morein

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 822 62
Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: Torbjorn.Morein@ki.se

Projektkoordinator

Stefan Nobel

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 869 80
Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: stefan.nobel@ki.se

Associated

Carolina Nylén

Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: carolina.nylen@ki.se

PhD student

Milena Schönke

Organizational unit: Integrative Physiology
E-mail: milena.schonke@ki.se

Scientific coordinator

Ulrika Widegren

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 867 47
Organizational unit: Faculty Office and International Relations
E-mail: Ulrika.Widegren@ki.se

Physiology