About the Department

Denna sida på svenska


The department was founded 1992 as a merger between the former departments of Physiological Chemistry, Biochemistry and Medical Biophysics. The department has a long heritage of internationally renowned research. Prominent researchers within MBB's area of research are Jöns Jacob Berzelius, who among other things discovered the element Selenium, Nobel Prize laureate Hugo Theorell (for discovering the oxidation enzyme and its effects), Sune Bergström and Bengt Samuelsson (for discoveries concerning leukotriens and prostaglandins).


The Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics (MBB) conducts research in basic science, particularly focusing on discovering the mechanisms that cause diseases. Many of the diseases studied are common diseases and some are also linked to poverty.

Presently, MBB consists of 12 research divisions which are involved in teaching and research within the fields of protein chemistry, redox biochemistry, metabolism, lipid research, inflammation research, structural biochemistry, molecular biochemistry, tissue biology, and developmental biology.


The Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics consist of the following:

Diagram of the Organisational Structure of MBB. Click image for (larger) PDF version.


Jill Blomstrand - Head of administration


Natalia Demin - Deputy head of administration, Accounting supervisor

Anna Bengtsson Jemt - Financial assistant

Johanna Sandelius - Finance administrator

Human Resources

HR gives support to the department in all types of HR questions.

Emma Pelarhagen - HR coordinator

Lina Rowland - HR coordinator

Anneli Svarén - Administrator

More information about what the HR function can help you with


Chad Tunell - IT supervisor


Torbjörn Haglöf - Superintendent

Svante Backlund - Custodian

Lottie Jansson Sjöstrand - Research engineer

Dana Omar Goran - Technical assistant

Shagufta Anwar - Technical assistant


Phone number

+46-8-524 800 00 (switchboard)

Postal address

Karolinska Institutet

SE-171 77 Stockholm

Visiting address


Scheeles väg 2

Head of Department

Professor/senior physician

Nils-Göran Larsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 830 36
Organizational unit: Nils-Göran Larsson's Group
E-mail: Nils-Goran.Larsson@ki.se

Head of Finance and Administration

Head of administration

Jill Blomstrand

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 876 87
Organizational unit: Administration and service
E-mail: Jill.Blomstrand@ki.se