Charlotte Silén research group: Pedagogical encounters in the clinic

The core of this research area is to expand the knowledge about learning and teaching in pedagogical encounters in the health care environment. Pedagogical encounters are defined as situations where the learner and the teacher/facilitator/professional meet and interact for the purpose of learning (Silén 2013 and Uljens 2009).The pedagogical encounters always take place in a context influencing the learning and teaching processes and course of events. In this research the context is the clinical environment including also web based learning. The research projects are targeting learning processes related to students, supervisors, professionals and patients. 

Some central concepts investigated are: 

  • Authenticity
  • Autonomy in learning
  • Thresholds in learning
  • Empowerment
  • Patient safety connected to patients’ learning
  • Professional development.

The projects in the research group are divided in two main fields:

Clinical education

  • Students learning at clinical education wards
  • Self-directed learning in clinical practice
  • Mentorship for students professional development
  • Supervisors role for students in primary health care
  • Learning non-technical skills in anaesthesiology
  • Creating a virtual meeting point for tutors in Primary Healthcare - to develop tutors' skills by using Web2.0 technology
  • Interprofessional learning using virtual patients

Patients learning

  • Children learning from the web
  • Patient learning (breast and prostate cancer)
  • Learning centres for patients
  • Asthma school for children

Group leader & Associate professor

Lecturer senior

Charlotte Silén

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 837 27
Organizational unit: Pedagogical encounters in Health Care
E-mail: charlotte.silen@ki.se

Researchers

Professor
Maggi Savin Baden

Assistant professor

Head of unit

Lars Henningsohn

Phone: +46-(0)8-585 877 16
Organizational unit: x
E-mail: Lars.Henningsohn@ki.se

Assistant professor

Senior lecturer

Päivi Kaila

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 845 16
Organizational unit: Division of nursing- Nursing 1
E-mail: paivi.kaila@ki.se

PhD

Associated

Leila Niemi-Murola

Phone: + 358 50 427 1782
E-mail: Leila.Niemi-Murola@ki.se

Associate professor

Professor/nurse

Yvonne Wengström

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 836 83
Organizational unit: Division of Nursing- Nursing 2
E-mail: Yvonne.Wengstrom@ki.se

Professor

Adjunct professor

Kerstin Sandelin

Organizational unit: Breast surgery
E-mail: Kerstin.Sandelin@ki.se

PhD

Lecturer

Nina Andersson-Papadogiannaki

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 859 89
Organizational unit: Department of Women's and Children's Health (KBH), K6
E-mail: Nina.Andersson@ki.se

Professor

Professor/senior physician

Per-Arne Lönnqvist

E-mail: Per-Arne.Lonnqvist@ki.se

Professor
Karin Ringsberg

PhD
Anne Trollevik

Associate professor

Laboratory technician

Monica Eriksson

Organizational unit: x
E-mail: Monica.Eriksson@ki.se

PhD students

 

Graduate Student

Angelica Fredholm

Organizational unit: Pedagogical encounters in Health Care
E-mail: Angelica.Fredholm@ki.se
 

Graduate Student

Gunilla Lööf

Organizational unit: Pedagogical encounters in Health Care
E-mail: gunilla.loof@ki.se

Lecturer

Lena Engqvist Boman

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 836 02
Organizational unit: Unit for Medical Education and Technology (UMET)
E-mail: Lena.Boman@ki.se

Array

Array

 

Master students in medical education

Associated

Eva Toth-Pal

Phone: +46-(0)8-123 368 92
Organizational unit: Division of Family Medicine and Primary Care
E-mail: Eva.Toth-Pal@ki.se
 

Administrator

Karin Björklund-Jonsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 865 75
Organizational unit: Academic Ceremonies
E-mail: Karin.Bjorklund-Jonsson@ki.se
 

Pedagogics