Epigenetics, chromatin remodelling and cancer - Karl Ekwall

Epigenetics is the study of heritable changes for example chromosomal states, which are not associated with changes in the DNA sequence. The Ekwall group is taking a holistic approach towards understanding epigenetic regulation, unravelling mechanisms at work both in centromeres and gene regulation.

Ekwall research group

The group is using a variety of approaches including genome-wide 'epigenomics', cell biology and biochemistry to address important questions about epigenetic regulatory mechanisms such as histone modification, nucleosome remodelling and histone variant function. Translational medicine aspects of this research are exploited mainly in the cancer and cell differentiation areas (epigenetic programming). The group also recently initiated projects on chromatin and DNA repair. Currently there are four main projects in focus; Centromere function and gene regulation; Chromatin remodelling factors and nuclear organization; Dissecting the epigenome in normal human blood cells and in Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML); and DNA damage and chromatin.

Chromosome DNA double helix

Group members

Senior lab manager

Lina Cordeddu

Phone: 08-524 810 37
Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: lina.cordeddu@ki.se

Graduate Student

Wenbo Dong

E-mail: wenbo.dong@ki.se

Senior researcher

Mickaël Durand-Dubief

Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: mickael.durand-dubief@ki.se


Karl Ekwall

Phone: 08-524 810 39
Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: Karl.Ekwall@ki.se

Assistant professor

Olga Khorosjutina

Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: Olga.Khorosjutina@ki.se


Vladimir Maksimov

Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: vladimir.maksimov@ki.se


Eriko Oya

Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: eriko.oya@ki.se


Lee Siggens

Organizational unit: Department of Biosciences and Nutrition (BioNut), H2
E-mail: lee.siggens@ki.se

Research assistant

Yasaman Zahedi

Organizational unit: Ekwall
E-mail: yasaman.zahedi@ki.se