Cell biology of cancer - Staffan Strömblad

We aim to improve the fundamental understanding on how cancer develops and progresses. Our focus is cancer cell migration, a process critical to cancer cell dissemination by metastasis, the main lethality factor of cancer. To better understand cancer cell migration, we are using a systems microscopy approach, where live cell microscopy of migrating cancer cells is combined with mathematical analyses and modeling. With the help of transgenic mice, we are also investigating how p21-activated kinase 4 affects cancer development and progression, and we are also examining how the microenvironment's extracellular matrix influences the same processes.

We perform a large number of national and international collaborations and actively participate in different networks, including the European Union-FP7-Systems Microscopy Network of Excellence and Karolinska Institutet’s Breast Cancer Theme Center (BRECT). Staffan Strömblad is the Coordinator and Vice director, respectively, for these two networks.

More about our research


Group members


Staffan Strömblad

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 811 22
Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: Staffan.Stromblad@ki.se

Senior researcher

Xiaowei Gong

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 811 23
Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: xiaowei.gong@ki.se

PhD student

Sara Göransson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 811 08
Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: Sara.A.Goransson@ki.se


Miriam Masia-Balague

Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: miriam.masia-balague@ki.se

Biomedical scientist

Helene Olofsson

Phone: +46-(0)8-524 811 24
Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: Helene.Olofsson@ki.se

Graduate Student

Parisa Rabieifar

Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: parisa.rabieifar@ki.se

PhD student

Tania Costa

Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: Tania.Costa@ki.se

PhD student

Miao Zhao

Organizational unit: Strömblad
E-mail: Miao.Zhao@ki.se

Research coordinator

Matthias Spiess

E-mail: matthias.spiess@ki.se
Breast cancerCell BiologyMicroscopySignal transductionSystems Biology